Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections: Commonwealth Games Scotland

Collection information

Collection: Commonwealth Games Scotland

Collection Ref.: GB 0559 CG

Administrative History:

Commonwealth Games Scotland is the lead body for Commonwealth sport in Scotland and is responsible for selecting, preparing and managing Team Scotland at the Commonwealth Games. The members of Commonwealth Games Scotland represent the Scottish governing bodies of the 28 recognised Commonwealth Games sports. Commonwealth Games Scotland is a member of the Commonwealth Games Federation, the organisation responsible for the direction and control of the Commonwealth Games.

Contents:

The Commonwealth Games Scotland Archive documents almost a century of of international sporting competition, beginning with the minutes of Scottish National Sports Federation (the body which later became Commonwealth Games Scotland) in 1931. The collection contains minutes, reports, administrative papers, promotional material, photographs, uniforms and memorabilia relating to the participation of Team Scotland at the Commonwealth Games. The collection also includes material from other major international sporting events including Olympic Games. 

The collection also includes the records relating to the planning, organisation and administration of the 1970 and 1986 Commonwealth Games, which were both held in Edinburgh. The planning and administration of the Edinburgh Games were managed by Organising Committees whose extensive records are present. Every aspect of the operation of the games from management of local volunteers to international negotiations with participating nations are detailed in the committee minutes, correspondence files and reports. Posters, programmes and other promotional material provide a pictorial record of events, along with memorabilia (including official team clothing) and an extensive photographic archive.

Extent: 10.5 cubic metres approx.

Catalogue information

This collection is currently being catalogued, with additional information being regularly added to our online catalogue.

For further information please contact the University Archivist.

Additional collection information

Custodial history: This material in this collection was originally held by Commonwealth Games Scotland. The transfer of material to the University of Stirling Archives began in 2011 and is ongoing.

Accruals: Further additions to the collection are expected.

Access conditions: The collection is currently being catalogued. Please contact the University Archivist for further details.

Related collections: The University Archives also holds collections of personal memorabilia and papers of former Commonwealth Games athletes and sporting administrators including:

  • Sir Peter Heatly (1924-2015), winner of gold medals for diving at three consecutive Commonwealth Games in the 1950s, Vice Chair of the 1970 Edinburgh Games and Chair of the Commonwealth Games Federation from 1982-1990
  • Willie Carmichael (1905-1988), Manager of the Scottish Team at the 1938 Commonwealth Games, Chair of Commonwealth Games Scotland 1950-1955, Director of the 1970 Edinburgh Commonwealth Games
  • Douglas Brown (1940-2016), Honorary Secretary of Commonwealth Games Scotland 1999-2011, and a major figure in Scottish Swimming

Language: English

Publications:

Haynes, R., and Magee, K., Hosts and Champions: Taking the Commonwealth Games Scotland Archives on Tour, Archives, The Journal of the British Records Association, Vol. L, No. 130-31, April-October 2015

Magee, K., Boycotts and Bailouts: The Archives of Commonwealth Games Scotland, African Research and Documentation, no. 116, 2011. (An online version of this article can be viewed here).

Additional information:

Hosts and Champions: Scotland in the Commonwealth Games is a touring exhibition which features material from the Commonwealth Games Scotland Archive. It celebrates the story of Scotland's contribution to, and participation in, the Commonwealth Games, beginning with the first competition in Hamilton, Canada, in 1930.

Edinburgh 1970 online

The Ninth British Commonwealth Games took place in Edinburgh from the 16th to the 25th of July 1970. It was the first time the Games were held in Scotland. Explore a selection of documents, reports and newsletters relating to the Games on our new JSTOR / JISC Open Community Collections pages

Hosts and Champions

Our Hosts and Champions touring exhibition tells the story of Scotland's contribution to the Commonwealth Games through a display of material from the Commonwealth Games Scotland Archive. Find out more about the exhibition and details of upcoming events on our Hosts and Champions page.

Using the collection

Archives Reading Room

Opening Hours:

10 am - 1 pm / 2 pm - 4 pm

Monday - Friday

Contact us:

Tel. 01786 466619

Email: archives@stir.ac.uk

Please note current service update (November 2020)

Online resources