Archives and Special Collections: Kick off! Engaging with Scotland's sporting heritage

Kick off! Engaging with Scotland's sporting heritage

Friday 23 February 2018

11am to 4pm

Scottish Football Museum, Hampden Park, Glasgow

Presented by: Sporting Heritage, ARA Scotland, Sports Heritage Scotland

This event celebrates the exciting range of projects promoting and developing sporting heritage collections across Scotland. Our speakers will uncover the unsung heroes of Scottish sport and show how they can be celebrated in Halls of Fame; highlight the value of business records for sporting heritage; and demonstrate the steps that are being taken to preserve the heritage of a range of sports including gymnastics and roller derbies!

The event will also provide an opportunity for a wider discussion on the challenges and possibilities of developing Scotland's sporting heritage collections with Justine Reilly, Director of Sporting Heritage. There will also be an opportunity to view the displays in the Scottish Football Museum, including the current Cricket Scotland exhibition.

10.30-11.00  Registration / Tea & Coffee

11.00- 11.05  Introduction

11.05-12.10  Session 1:

• Drawing Games: Sporting Art at the National Galleries of Scotland, Imogen Gibbon (National Galleries of Scotland)
• Scottish Women in Sport Wall of Fame, Maureen McGonigle (Scottish Women in Sport) & Fiona Skillen (Glasgow Caledonian University)
• Jammers, blockers and toe jumpers: roller derby and ice skating collections at the National Library of Scotland, Ian Scott (National Library of Scotland)

12.15-13.20  Session 2:

• Scottish FA Women's International Roll of Honour, Richard McBrearty (Scottish Football Museum)
• Body Language: dance, gymnastics and physical education archives, Clare Button (University of Edinburgh)
• Heritage so important to Scottish Cricket, Colin Neill & Cammie Munro (Cricket Scotland)

13.20-14.00  Lunch

• Lunch can be purchased from the Hampden Park cafe
• Lunchtime will also provide an opportunity to visit the Scottish Football Museum, including the current Cricket Scotland exhibition

14.00-15.00  Session 3

• Researching sporting heritage, Richard Haynes (University of Stirling)
• Current PhD research projects - Wade Cormack (University of the Highlands & Islands); Mark Connelly (University of Stirling); Mason Robbins (University of Edinburgh); Karen Grunwell (University of Stirling)

15.05-16.00  Session 4

• Groundskeeping the UK's football archives - a pilot project, Karyn Williamson (ARA Section for Business Records)
• Sporting Heritage - update on sector support, Justine Reilly (Sporting Heritage)
• Developing Scotland's sporting heritage - discussion

16.00-17.00

• Tea & Coffee can be purchased from the Hampden Park cafe
• Opportunity to visit the Scottish Football Museum, including the current Cricket Scotland exhibition

(Image of closing ceremony of 1970 Edinburgh Commonwealth Games, Commonwealth Games Scotland Archive, University of Stirling.)

The event if FREE and open to everyone with an interest in sporting heritage.

Registration is being administered by Archives & Records Association Scotland through their News and Events page.

Scottish Football Museum

Hampden Park 

Glasgow

G42 9BA

http://www.scottishfootballmuseum.org.uk/find-us/

ROAD WORKS: if you are traveling by car please note that there are major road works around the stadium which are causing some disruption in the area, including the closure of Aikenhead Road.