Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Collections for History
Amulree Jacobite Collection
This collection of material relating to the Jacobites was gathered by Lord Amulree (1900-1983).
Contents: Manuscripts relating to the Jacobite cause in the 18th century, including a contemporary report on the Battle of Falkirk, 1746; manuscript copy of Lord Amulree's A parting gleam: the life of Archibald Cameron; articles by Lord Amulree; transcriptions from the Stuart Papers; photographs of paintings and places connected with the Stuarts; books on Jacobite history; paintings and a crayon portrait; medals; pair of paste shoe buckles.
The Stirling Tract Enterprise was founded by Peter Drummond, a Stirling seed merchant, in 1848. Drummond, a very religious man, was shocked that people were being ferried across the River Forth to Cambuskenneth to visit the abbey and public houses on Sundays. He published a tract, The Sabbath, and distributed 10,000 copies, and followed that with another 200,000 copies in the following months. He subsequently published several new tracts; by 1852 he devoted himself to tract publishing full time. The tracts were distributed free, although distributors were charged (these included clergy, missionaries, preachers, Sunday Schools). Donations covered the publishing costs. Most of the tracts were printed by the Stirling Observer Press. The Enterprise also started publishing books and magazines. By 1872, around 60 million tracts had been published.
Contents: Publications of the Stirling Tract Enterprise and the Drummond Press, including tracts, magazines and books
The Leighton Library in Dunblane is founded on the personal library of Archbishop Robert Leighton (1611-1684). Robert Leighton lived through one of the most turbulent periods in Scottish history. He was ordained as a Presbyterian minister, yet took up the office of Bishop of Dunblane in the restored Episcopal Church, in an attempt to reconcile Presbyterians and Episcopalians in a united Church of Scotland. Aware that he might be accused of seeking self-aggrandisement, he accepted a post in Dunblane, the smallest and poorest see in the country. He was later installed as Archbishop of Glasgow, though he failed to bring about the reconciliation in church affairs which he so desired.
Contents: The collection dates from the 16th century to the 19th century and covers a variety of subject areas, including history and politics (particularly 17th century), theology, medicine, travel, language and the occult. There is also much to interest the book historian.
A collection of documents relating to Napoleon.
Contents: The collection consists of 59 documents and pictures, ranging from such eighteenth-century manuscripts as a treatise (in Italian) by Napoleon's father, Charles Bonaparte, on farming methods, to nineteenth-century engravings of Napoleon's descendants. The collection also includes two books: Volume One of Anquetil's Histoire de France, apparently annotated by Napoleon (but this has yet to be verified) and, in manuscript, the British signal code book for Saint Helena at the time of Napoleon's exile.
As well as the various named special collections and archives, we have a supporting collection of old and rare books on 18th – 20th century Scottish (and some English and European) literature, history and philosophy.
Dunblane Museum holds archives on the Dunblane area, as well as artifacts and some books.