Our archives reading room is now open to university staff and students, and external researchers by appointment. The University Archives continues to take measures to reduce the risks of transmission of COVID-19 and protect staff and visitors to our archives reading room.
Full details are available at: https://collections.stir.ac.uk/covid-19-reopening-archives-special-collections/
The Peter Mackay Archive is a major new resource which documents the struggles for independence in a number of Southern African countries including Malawi, Zimbabwe and South Africa. We raised £8,100 of £8,000 target with 64 supporters in 56 days. The project has been short-listed for Campaign of the Year at the Herald Higher Education Awards which take place in Glasgow on 6 July 2017.
Our unique collections provide a rich research resource, providing inspiration and subject-matter for dissertations, PhDs and research projects.
Classes in our archives reading room provide hands on experience and practical real-life projects for students across a range of subjects.
The University Archives provides opportunities for students to gain practical experience working with our collections through our volunteer programme. The skills gained on the programme contribute to enhancing student employability with many of our volunteers going on to careers in the heritage and information management sectors.
Supporting Administration and Good Governance
The University Archives holds the institutional memory of the university. The information we hold is a vital asset for good governance, providing the evidential basis for planning and decision-making. Our staff can provide advice on good record-keeping and arrange for the transfer of material of long-term value to our archive store.
Supporting Partnership and Public Engagement
Our collections include material held on long-term deposit from a number of organisations including NHS Forth Valley, Commonwealth Games Scotland and the Musicians’ Union. The University Archives works closely with our partners to preserve, catalogue and promote their heritage.
Archives Reading Room
10.00 am - 1.00 pm / 2.00 pm - 4.00 pm
Monday - Friday
Tel. 01786 466619
Please contact us in advance of your visit. Material can be ordered in advance by emailing us at email@example.com