Skip to main content

Archives & Special Collections: Hosts and Champions

Exhibition

Scottish Government, Victoria Quay, Edinburgh, 27 March - 7 April 2017

Hosts and Champions: Scotland in the Commonwealth Games is a touring exhibition celebrating over 80 years of participation and achievement by Scotland in the Commonwealth Games from its origin as the British Empire Games held in Hamilton, Canada in 1930, through to the Glasgow 2014. Drawn from the Commonwealth Games Scotland Archive held by the University of Stirling, the exhibition displays a selection of photographs, designs, clothing, papers and artefacts which evoke a rich story of Scotland's involvement in the Games, including as hosts in 1970, 1986 and 2014.

Developed with the support of Legacy 2014 and Commonwealth Games Scotland the exhibition has visited ten venues across Scotland in 2015 and 2016, starting its tour in Trinity Church, Irvine, North Ayrshire. Other towns have included Carnoustie, Perth, Stirling, Dalkeith, Dumfries, Stranraer and Kirkintilloch. Further details of dates and venues will continue to be added to this webpage as the tour progresses.

This exhibition is curated by Professor Richard Haynes, Karl Magee, Ian Mackintosh and Jocelyn Grant (University of Stirling) and supported by Legacy 2014. It builds on the exhibition created in collaboration with Lucy Armitage (Glasgow Museums) and supported by the Celebrate Fund and Festival 2014 which was displayed in the Old Fruitmarket in Glasgow during the 2014 Games.

Project Information

The University of Stirling's Archives & Special Collections holds the archives of Commonwealth Games Scotland, the body responsible for selecting, preparing and managing Scotland’s teams at the Commonwealth Games. The collection documents over 80 years of international sporting competition beginning with the formation of the first Scottish team in 1930.

As part of the Culture 2014 celebrations accompanying Glasgow 2014 our Hosts and Champions project opened up the archives to tell the story of Scotland’s contribution to the Commonwealth Games from the 1930s to the present day. Material from the collection was displayed in exhibitions in Stirling and Glasgow; a series of talks on the history of sport in Scotland provided further insights into Scotland’s sporting history; and the fascinating stories discovered in the archives by our project team were presented on our Sport Heritage blog. A finalist at the 2015 Herald Higher Education Awards, the Hosts and Champions exhibition will visit a number of venues across Scotland in 2015 and 2016 continuing our celebration of Scotland's sporting heritage. To date it has visited the following locations:

Trinity Church, Irvine (13 March - 17 April 2015) - images of the exhbition in Irvine can be viewed here.

Carnoustie Library (21 April - 21 May 2015) - images of the exhibition in Carnoustie can be viewed here.

Dewars Centre, Perth (27 May - 27 June 2015) - images of the exhibition in Perth can be viewed here.

Macrobert Centre, University of Stirling (24 July - 14 September 2015) - images of the exhibiton can be viewed here.

Dalkeith Arts Centre (18 September - 23 October 2015) - images of the exhibition in Dalkeith can be viewed here.

Dumfries Museum (31 October - 12 December 2015) - a video about the exhibition in Dumfries can be viewed here.

Stranraer Museum (23 January - 27 February 2016)

Auld Kirk Museum, Kirkintilloch (5 March - 21 April 2016) - images of the exhibition in Kirkintilloch can be viewed here.

The Devil's Porridge Museum, Eastriggs (28 April - 4 June 2016)

Grangemouth Stadium (16 November - 12 December 2016)

University of Stirling Library (16 February - 1 March 2017)

Further information about the project can be found on our University Archives blog and images from the archive can be viewed on our flickr pages.

Presentations and talks:

'Opening up the Commonwealth Games Scotland Archive', British Society of Sports History Annual Conference, Edinburgh 3 September 2016

Audience Engagement training day, Archives & Records Association Scotland, Inverness, 22 April 2016

Why does sporting heritage matter?, 2016 Sport in Museums Network conference, Nottingham, 11 February 2016

'In a league of their own': archives of the history of British sport and physical recreation, 2015 British Records Association conference - London, 26 November 2015

 

Herald Higher Education Awards 2015

Exhibition image

Pass it on!

Pass it on! Celebrating Scotland's sporting heritage, University of Stirling Library, Friday 24 February

Conference information available here.

#HostsandChampions

Follow us on twitter to get up-to-date news and information relating to the touring programme for Hosts & Champions and share your photographs of your visit to the exhibition using #HostsandChampions.

Blog

Sport Heritage: From Sporting Past to Future Wellbeing

Find out more about the fascinating stories contained in the Commonwealth Games Archive on our blog

Kirkintilloch poster

Carnoustie poster

Irvine poster