Collection ref.: GB 0559 IRS
Administrative History:
Established in 1983 the University of Stirling’s Institute for Retail Studies provides a focus for the study of the retail industry. It has documented, preserved and examined the history and development of the retail sector from the early twentieth century through to the present day, both in the UK and internationally. Its staff conduct research on behalf of retail and distributive companies, local and national governments, public sector bodies and research councils.
Contents:
The Institute for Retail Studies Archive consists of a wealth of material created and collected by staff of the Institute. The collections provide a unique record of the growth and development of the retail sector, while the research papers and reports produced by the institute comprise an unrivalled academic library of the study of the business of retail. Material covers the twentieth and twenty-first centuries and includes administrative files, reports and papers produced by the institute; trade reports, annual company reports, extensive runs of trade press; business directories; sales catalogues; marketing material and product packaging; photographic and slide collections of UK and international retail outlets; and a library of the key historical international textbooks and studies on retail.
Further information on administrative history and contents of the collection available on our Culture on Campus website.
The collection is currently being organised and catalogued. A full survey of the collection was completed in February 2024. Please contact us for further information.
Custodial History:
The bulk of the records created and collected by the Institute are still held by the Institute for Retail Studies. The transfer of the key administrative records of the Institute to the University Archives began in February 2024. The personal paper collections of Professor John Dawson and Nick Bubb were placed on deposit with the University Archives between 2019-2021.
Access Conditions:
Material from the Institute for Retail Studies Archives can be consulted in our archives reading room. Please contact us for further information.
Archives Reading Room
Opening Hours:
10 am - 1 pm / 2 pm - 4 pm
Monday - Friday
Please note our current service arrangements
Contact us:
Tel. 01786 466619
Email: archives@stir.ac.uk