Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections: MacLeod Theatre Collection

Collection information

Collection: Macleod Theatre Collection

Classmark: Macleod

Biographical/administrative history:

Joseph Macleod (1903 - 1984) was an actor, playwright, theatre director, poet and newsreader. He wrote a number of books on the theatre, including The new Soviet theatre (1943), Actors cross the Volga (1946) and A Soviet theatre sketch book (1951). The Macleod collection of Scottish theatrical history is based on his personal collection of books and 19th century playbills.

Contents: books, playbills, pamphlets

Extent: approx 6 shelves

Catalogue information

The collection is included in the online library catalogue.

Please contact us in advance of a visit by emailing archives@stir.ac.uk

Additional collection information

Custodial history: The collection was donated to the Library by Joseph Macleod in 1980.

Accruals: None expected

Access conditions: Please contact us in advance of a visit by emailing archives@stir.ac.uk

Language: English

 

Using the collection

Archives Reading Room

Opening Hours:

10.00 am - 1.00 pm / 2.00 pm - 4.00 pm

Monday - Friday

Contact us:

Tel. 01786 466619

Email: archives@stir.ac.uk

Please contact us in advance of your visit. Material can be ordered in advance by emailing us at archives@stir.ac.uk