Collection: Sir Peter Heatly Archive
Collection Ref.: GB 0559 PH
Biographical history:
Sir Peter Heatly (1924-2015) competed as a diver in the 1950, 1954 and 195 Commonwealth Games and is the only Scottish competitor to win a gold medal at three consecutive Games. On retiring from competition he became manager of the Scottish team and a sporting administrator. He was Vice-Chairman of the 1970 Edinburgh Commonwealth Games and sat on the organising committee for the event. He served as Chair of the Commonwealth Games Federation from 1982-1990 and was an Honorary Life Vice-President of the Federation from 1990-2015. He was knighted in 1990 for his services to sport. He was inducted into the Scottish Sports Hall of Fame in 2002 and the Scottish Swimming Hall of Fame in 2010.
Contents:
The Sir Peter Heatly Archive contains: minutes, publications, uniforms and memorabilia material relating to the Commonwealth Games Council for Scotland (Commonwealth Games Scotland); organisational papers, publications, promotional material, uniform, memorabilia objects and photographs relating to each Commonwealth Games between 1930-2018 and each Commonwealth Youth Games between 2000-2011; minutes, correspondence, publications, papers, items and photographs relating to the Commonwealth Games Federation; material relating to Sir Peter Heatly's participation in Scottish Swimming; publications, photographs and newspaper articles relating to other sports (including Olympic Games) and personal material unrelated to sport.
The collection has been fully catalogued and details are available from the University Archives. Details are currently being added to our online catalogue.
Custodial history: This material in this collection was transferred to the University of Stirling Archives by the family of Sir Peter Heatly.
Accruals: Further additions to the collection are expected.
Access conditions: Please contact the University Archives for further details.
Related collections: The Sir Peter Heatly Archive is part of our larger Commonwealth Games sport collections which include:
Digitised content: Sir Peter's photograph album documenting the journey of the Scottish team to the 1950 Games in Auckland, New Zealand, is available to view on our JSTOR Collection pages.
Language: English
Publications:
Haynes, R., Snapshots of Empire Games Journeys: The Vernacular Photography of Peter Heatly and the 1950 Scotland Team, Photography and Culture, October 2023.
Haynes, R., and Magee, K., Hosts and Champions: Taking the Commonwealth Games Scotland Archives on Tour, Archives, The Journal of the British Records Association, Vol. L, No. 130-31, April-October 2015
Additional information:
Hosts and Champions: Scotland in the Commonwealth Games is a touring exhibition which features material from the Sir Peter Heatly Archive. It celebrates the story of Scotland's contribution to, and participation in, the Commonwealth Games, beginning with the first competition in Hamilton, Canada, in 1930.
In 1950 Sir Peter Heatly documented the journey of the Scottish team to the 1950 Games held in Auckland, New Zealand, on board the S.S. Tamaroa. The photograph album he created provides a unique visual record of events and is available to view on our JSTOR Collections pages.
The Scottish Aquatics Archive includes digitised content from the Peter Heatly Archive relating to the history of swimming in Scotland.
The Ninth British Commonwealth Games took place in Edinburgh from the 16th to the 25th of July 1970. It was the first time the Games were held in Scotland. Explore a selection of documents, reports and newsletters relating to the Games on our new JSTOR / JISC Open Community Collections pages.
Our Hosts and Champions touring exhibition tells the story of Scotland's contribution to the Commonwealth Games through a display of material from the Commonwealth Games Scotland Archive. Find out more about the exhibition and details of upcoming events on our Hosts and Champions page.
Archives Reading Room
Opening Hours:
10 am - 1 pm / 2 pm - 4 pm
Monday - Friday
Contact us:
Tel. 01786 466619
Email: archives@stir.ac.uk
Please note current service update (August 2022)
The Ninth British Commonwealth Games took place in Edinburgh from the 16th to the 25th of July 1970. It was the first time the Games were held in Scotland. Explore a selection of documents, reports and newsletters relating to the Games on our new JSTOR / JISC Open Community Collections pages.