Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections: Home

Service update April 2021

Following the latest COVID-19 guidance issued by the Scottish Government our archives reading room will reopen offering a limited service from Monday 26 April 2021. Our archives team continue to have limited access to our collections and are operating under new procedures in line with COVID-19 guidance produced by the university for returning to campus working.

Full details are available at: https://collections.stir.ac.uk/covid-19-reopening-archives-special-collections/

Collections online

 

Access a range of digitised content from our collections relating to sporting heritage, cinema, music, health and medicine on our new JSTOR Open Community Collections pages.

Brig Digital Archive

Online access to fully digitised issues of Brig, the university's student newspaper, from 1969-1987. Full details on our Culture on Campus blog.

Volunteering

Find out more about our online volunteering projects at:

https://collections.stir.ac.uk/volunteer-with-us/

Tales from the Ring

A new project to collect and preserve Scotland's boxing heritage. Supported by the National Lottery Heritage Fund.

Find out more at: https://boxing.stir.ac.uk/

New reading room

During the Campus Central building works alternative arrangements are in place to access our collections. Further information on our new reading room can be found on our archives blog.

#ArchiveZ

From March to August 2018 we supported the Twitter #ArchiveZ campaign organised by @ARAScot to highlight the wealth of collections held in Scottish Archives. A full set of our A-Z of contributions from Academy Awards to zebras can be found in our Wakelet #ArchiveZ story

Crowdfunding project

We did it! Peter Mackay Archive project funded on Crowdfunder.

The Peter Mackay Archive is a major new resource which documents the struggles for independence in a number of Southern African countries including Malawi, Zimbabwe and South Africa. We raised £8,100 of £8,000 target with 64 supporters in 56 days. The project has been short-listed for Campaign of the Year at the Herald Higher Education Awards which take place in Glasgow on 6 July 2017.

#MackayArchive #Malawi

#MackayArchive #Malawi

Exhibition

Staring at the ceiling, looking at the stars

The human geography of Stirling District Asylum Archive

New artwork co-created by patients at Bellsdyke Hospital and artist Sharon Quigley, inspired by the stories of patients in the Stirling District Asylum Archive.

Read more about the project here.

Welcome to Archives and Special Collections

Supporting Research

Our unique collections provide a rich research resource, providing inspiration and subject-matter for dissertations, PhDs and research projects.

Supporting Teaching

Classes in our archives reading room provide hands on experience and practical real-life projects for students across a range of subjects.  

Supporting Students

The University Archives provides opportunities for students to gain practical experience working with our collections through our volunteer programme. The skills gained on the programme contribute to enhancing student employability with many of our volunteers going on to careers in the heritage and information management sectors.

Supporting Administration and Good Governance

The University Archives holds the institutional memory of the university. The information we hold is a vital asset for good governance, providing the evidential basis for planning and decision-making. Our staff can provide advice on good record-keeping and arrange for the transfer of material of long-term value to our archive store.

Supporting Partnership and Public Engagement

Our collections include material held on long-term deposit from a number of organisations including NHS Forth Valley, Commonwealth Games Scotland and the Musicians’ Union. The University Archives works closely with our partners to preserve, catalogue and promote their heritage.

News and events

Loading ...

Treasures exhibition

Treasures exhibition

Using the collection

Archives Reading Room

Opening Hours:

10.00 am - 1.00 pm / 2.00 pm - 4.00 pm

Monday - Friday

Contact us:

Tel. 01786 466619

Email: archives@stir.ac.uk

Please contact us in advance of your visit. Material can be ordered in advance by emailing us at archives@stir.ac.uk