Collection: Scottish Women's Keep Fit Association
Collection ref.: GB 0559 KF
Administrative history:
The Scottish Women's Keep Fit Association was established in Edinburgh in 1952. It provided a range of fitness classes for women following the principles developed by Rudolf Laban of time, weight, space and flow and set up branches across Scotland. The association promoted the benefits of exercise and movement and organised events and demonstrations by its national display team. In 1984 it changed its name to the Scottish Keep Fit Association and became Keep Fit Scotland in 1985.
Irene A Reynolds began attending classes organised by the Scottish Women's Keep Fit Association in 1968 and went on to become the National Display Team Coach for the association. This collection consists of material collected by Irene and used in her research and writing of the association's history.
Contents:
Material relating to the organisation and activities of the Scottish Women's Keep Fit Association collected by Irene A Reynolds. Includes photographs, press cuttings, reports, bulletins and promotional material produced by the Scottish Women's Keep Fit Association. Also includes history of the association written by Irene A Reynolds providing detailed administrative history and lists of members.
Extent: 1 box
The collection was fully organised and catalogued by Irene A Reynolds prior to deposit with the University of Stirling Archives. The original order and descriptions of the collection have been retained in our online archive catalogue.
Custodial history: Deposited with the University of Stirling Archives by Irene A Reynolds in October 2025.
Accruals: No further additions to the collection expected.
Access conditions: Open. The collection can be consulted in our archives reading room.
Our archives reading room is open to university staff and students, and external researchers by appointment. Our current service arrangements are available at: https://collections.stir.ac.uk/using-archives-special-collections/