Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections: Helen B Cruickshank

Collection information

Collection: Helen B. Cruickshank

Classmark:

Books: Cruickshank ...

Manuscripts: MS 1-5

Biographical /administrative history: Helen Burness Cruickshank (1886-1975) was a Scottish poet and suffragette. She was a friend and associate of a number of other Scottish writers including Lewis Grassic Gibbon, Hugh MacDiarmid, Violet Jacob and Marion Angus.

Contents: Books donated by Helen B. Cruickshank, mainly Scottish literature and culture. Manuscripts include correspondence, articles, notes, press cuttings and some photographs.

Extent: approx 200 books, 2 boxes of manuscripts

Catalogue information

All of the books and manuscripts are catalogued online - see the library catalogue.

Please contact us in advance of a visit by emailing archives@stir.ac.uk

Additional collection information

Custodial history: The collection of books was donated to the Library by the poet herself in 1967.

Accruals: None expected.

Access conditions: Please contact us in advance of a visit by emailing archives@stir.ac.uk

Language: English, Scots

Using the collection

Archives Reading Room

Opening Hours:

10.00 am - 1.00 pm / 2.00 pm - 4.00 pm

Monday - Friday

Contact us:

Tel. 01786 466619

Email: archives@stir.ac.uk

Please contact us in advance of your visit. Material can be ordered in advance by emailing us at archives@stir.ac.uk