Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections: Joynson Family Papers

Collection information

Collection: Joynson Family Papers

Collection Ref.: GB 0559 JN

Collection summary:

Material relating to the life and outdoor pursuits of the Joynson family around Drumlean, near Aberfoyle, Stirlingshire. The Joynson family began visiting Aberfoyle and Loch Ard from their homes in England in the summer of 1849. Over time the family’s links with the area increased, with family members taking up residence in Glassert House and Altskeith House.  

Contents:

Game books (1874-1963); artists books (1870s-1910s); photographs; autograph album and diary. The game books provide detailed records of shooting game and fishing, while the artists books contain a range of sketches and paintings of the area by family members and visitors. Photographic material includes a set of mounted photographs of hunting dogs taken by the photographer Charles Reid (of Wishaw) and Joynson family albums which include scrapbook material relating to World War One (Major William Joynson and Major Ralph Joynson).  

Extent: 5 boxes

Catalogue information

University of Stirling Archives catalogue

A detailed catalogue of the collection is available on the University of Stirling Archives online catalogue.

Additional collection information

Custodial history: Presented to the University of Stirling Archives by the Joynson family (unless otherwise noted in catalogue).

Accruals: No further deposits expected.

Access conditions: Material can be consulted in our archives reading room.

Publications:

Further information on the Joynson family and Aberfoyle can be found in the book Local Past, compiled by Peter Joynson (self-published in 1996). A copy is included with the collection. For further information on the game books see Come North: Glassert Game Books and Diaries, Alastair Durie and Karl Magee, The Forth Naturalist and Historian, Vol. 31 (2008). 

Further information:

Further information on the Joynson family and the Drumlean Estate can be found on the Strathard Heritage Digital Archive website, produced by The Strathard Community Trust and The Loch Ard Local History Group.

 

Collection image

Using the collection

Archives Reading Room

Opening Hours:

10.00 am - 1.00 pm / 2.00 pm - 4.00 pm

Monday - Friday

Contact us:

Tel. 01786 466619

Email: archives@stir.ac.uk

Please contact us in advance of your visit. Material can be ordered in advance by emailing us at archives@stir.ac.uk