Collection: Mary Marshall (Royal Commission on Long Term Care of the Elderly)
Collection ref.: GB 0559 MRC
Administrative history:
The Royal Commission on Long Term Care for the Elderly was appointed in December 1997 to examine the short and long term options for a sustainable system of funding of long-term care for elderly people, both in their homes and other settings. It was also required to make recommendations regarding how the cost of such care should be apportioned between public funds and individuals. The Commission comprised a chair, Sir Steward Sutherland, and eleven members, including Professor Mary Marshall (who represented Scotland on the Commission) with the secretariat for the Commission being provided by the UK Department of Health.
Mary Marshall OBE is Emeritus Professor in the Faculty of Social Sciences at the University of Stirling where she was Director of the Dementia Services Development Centre from 1989-2005.
Contents:
The collection consists of papers collected by Mary Marshall relating to her work on the Royal Commission. Material includes copies of minutes of meetings of the Royal Commission (also held at the National Archives); research and evidence submitted to the Royal Commission for consideration; material relating to oral evidence and public consultations; press cuttings; presentations relating to the Royal Commission given by Professor Marshall; correspondence with members of the Royal Commission; final report and briefing documents; papers relating to Scottish responses to the findings of the Royal Commission.
Extent: 3 boxes
A collection-level description is included on our online archive catalogue.
A detailed box list of the contents was prepared by Professor Marshall and is included with the collection.
Custodial information: The collection was deposited with the University Archive by Professor Marshall in July 2023.
Accruals: No further additions are expected.
Access: Please contact the University Archives at archives@stir.ac.uk
Related material:
The official papers of the Royal Commission on Long Term Care for the Elderly are held in the National Archives (ref. JA 1).
Archives Reading Room
Opening Hours:
10 am - 1 pm / 2 pm - 4 pm
Monday - Friday
Please note our current service arrangements
Contact us:
Tel. 01786 466619
Email: archives@stir.ac.uk