Collection: Derek Williams, sporting memorabilia
Collection reference: GB 0559 DW
Biographical history:
Derek Williams was a Scottish wheelchair athlete who represented Scotland at the Commonwealth Paraplegic Games in 1966, 1970 and 1974. Derek was paralysed following a traffic accident in 1962, aged 13. He graduated from the University of Glasgow with a Bachelor of Science in 1970 and became a teacher. He played wheelchair table tennis at the highest level, winning medals at several international events.
Contents:
Sporting memorabilia collected by Derek Williams relating to his participation in the Commonwealth Paraplegic Games, Stoke Mandeville Games and other sporting events. Also includes items relating to the Scottish Paraplegic Association and personal biographical material.
Extent: 2 boxes
The collection has been fully catalogued with full details available on our online archive catalogue.
Custodial history: Deposited with the University of Stirling Archives by Lynne Williams in August 2025.
Accruals: Further additions to the collection expected.
Access conditions: Open. The collection can be consulted in our archives reading room.
Related material: An article on the 1970 Commonwealth Paraplegic Games is included in the Edinburgh Commonwealth Games Newsletter, No. 4, September 1969 (ref. CG/2/9/2/1/4). A digitised copy of this item can be viewed on our JSTOR Collections pages.
Our archives reading room is open to university staff and students, and external researchers by appointment. Our current service arrangements are available at: https://collections.stir.ac.uk/using-archives-special-collections/