Collection: Dear Mr Gorbachev
Collection Ref.: GB 0559 GOR
Papers relating to TV documentary directed by Michael Grigsby and produced by Barony Film and TV Productions Ltd. for Central Independent Television. Broadcast of ITV on 11 December 1990 as part of the Viewpoint 90 documentary series (running time 48 mins. 59 secs.).
The programme travelled around the world interviewing a selection of people who had written to Mikhail Gorbachev, President of the Soviet Union, and reflecting on the changes made since Gorbachev was appointed General Secretary of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union in 1985. The documentary makers gained exclusive behind-the-scenes access to offices in the Kremlin where letters to President Gorbachev were processed.
Production papers including contracts, agreements, shooting schedules, accounts, archive footage research, transmission script, broadcast information; promotional material including press cuttings and reviews; A-Z files of photocopied letters written to Gorbachev by people from around the world; VHS viewing tape of programme; photographs.
Extent: 2 boxes
Custodial history: The collection was deposited with the University of Stirling Archives by Barbara McKissack, the programme's producer, in 2022.
Accruals: No further additions expected.
Access conditions: This collection is open to researchers to consult in our archives reading room.
Language: English, Russian, German. Letters written to President Gorbachev also include other languages.
Fischel, Lloyd S., Dear Mr Gorbachev, Canongate Press, 1990. (A copy is available in the University of Stirling Library at Stirling-Long Q 47.085 FIS)
The Canongate Press Archive at the National Library of Scotland contains material relating to the production of the book Dear Mr Gorbachev. The relevant files are included in Acc. 11197 Canongate Press.
An article on the collection is available on our Culture on Campus blog.
Archives Reading Room
10.00 am - 1.00 pm / 2.00 pm - 4.00 pm
Monday - Friday
Tel. 01786 466619
Please contact us in advance of your visit. Material can be ordered in advance by emailing us at firstname.lastname@example.org