Skip to main content

Archives & Special Collections: James Hogg

Collection information

Collection: James Hogg

Collection Refs: GB 0559 MS 22, 25, 25A, 25B, 34-35, 94-97, 101-102, 105-106. Books: Reserve MAS 810-811

Biographical/administrative history:

James Hogg (1770-1835) was a shepherd, but battled against a childhood of poverty in the Scottish Borders and a lack of formal education to become ‘the Ettrick Shepherd’, one of the most prolific Scottish writers of the nineteenth century. Today he is best known for his novel The Private Memoirs and Confessions of a Justified Sinner (1824), but he also produced other novels, volumes of poetry, stories, and essays.

Contents: early editions of Hogg's work; also manuscripts and private papers, including Hogg's surviving household and farm accounts for the period 1818-1835, correspondence with Margaret Phillips (later Hogg) during their courtship and marriage, the poet's journal of a tour to the Western Highlands and Hebrides in 1803.

Extent: approx 120 books, 7 boxes of manuscripts

Catalogue information

The whole collection is listed in the online library catalogue.

Please contact us in advance of a visit or use the request form.

Online resources

Additional collection information

Custodial history: Many of the early editions and manuscripts were presented to the Library by James Hogg's great-grandaughter, Mrs Norah Parr of Wellington, New Zealand. The collection has been augmented by additional purchases of books and manuscripts.

Accruals: The collection may be extended if suitable material becomes available.

Access conditions: Please contact us in advance of a visit or use the request form.

Language: English, Scots

Publications:

A number of Stirling theses on James Hogg have been digitised and added to STORRE:

Stuart O'Donnell, The Author and the Shepherd: The Paratextual Self-Representations of James Hogg (1807-1835), 2012

Douglas Mack, Editing James Hogg: some textual and bibliographical problems in Hogg's prose works, 1984

Elaine Elizabeth Petrie, James Hogg : a study in the transition from folk tradition to literature, 1981

Robin W. MacLachlan, The literary development of James Hogg, 1977

 

 

Collection image

James Hogg

Using the collection

Archives Reading Room

Opening Hours:

9.30 am - 1.00 pm / 2.00 pm - 4.45 pm

Monday - Friday

Contact us:

Tel. 01786 466619

Email: archives@stir.ac.uk

Please contact us in advance of your visit and use the request form to order material you wish to consult.