Skip to main content

Archives & Special Collections: Charles Dickens

Collection information

Collection: Charles Dickens

Classmark: Reserve MA 4550 - 4572

Biographical/administrative history: Charles Dickens (1812-1870) was an English novelist and journalist. He is widely considered to be one of the best novelists of the Victorian period. In 1836 Dickens' novel The Pickwick Papers was published in monthly instalments. The success of this novel led to many others published in serialised form. Dickens is said to have modified his stories as the instalments were published, depending on the reaction of his audience. As well as writing novels, Dickens also edited a weekly journal, Household Words, and was a fierce critic of the social conditions endured by the poor of his age.

Contents: Our collection contains early editions of Dickens works, including several novels as originally issued in serial form.

Extent: 40-50 books

Catalogue information

All the books are listed in the library catalogue.

Please contact us in advance of a visit or use the request form.

Additional collection information

Custodial history: The collection has been built up over the years. Some books were donated to the Library; some were purchased.

Accruals: The collection may be extended if suitable material becomes available.

Access conditions: Please contact us in advance of a visit or use the request form.

Language: English, French

 

Collection image

Original parts of Bleak House

The original parts of Bleak House, published 1852-53

Using the collection

Archives Reading Room

Opening Hours:

9.30 am - 1.00 pm / 2.00 pm - 4.45 pm

Monday - Friday

Contact us:

Tel. 01786 466619

Email: archives@stir.ac.uk

Please contact us in advance of your visit and use the request form to order material you wish to consult.