Skip to main content

Archives & Special Collections: Scottish Political Archive

Collection information

Collection: Scottish Political Archive

Collection Ref.: GB 0559 SPA

Administrative History:

Established in 2010, the Scottish Political Archive is a project based in the university's History and Politics Department, which aims to collect material relating to modern Scottish politicians and political organisations through oral history interviews and the donation of political papers and memorabilia to the project. The archive is part of a larger project on Scottish politics and the devolution referendums of 1979 and 1997 and the forthcoming 2014 independence referendum.

Contents:

Material collected by the Scottish Political Archive to date includes: oral history interviews with politicians and activists involved in the 1979 and 1997 devolution referendums; the Scots Independent Newspaper photograph collection, recording politicians and political campaigns from the 1960 to the present; the Bruce Watson collection of political pamphlets and memorabilia (Watson was Chair of the Scottish National Party from 1945-1947); material relating to the political careers of Dennis Canavan (1974-2007); George Foulkes (1975-1997); John McAllion (1988-1997); George Robertson (1965-1998) and Gordon Wilson (1962-2000).

Catalogue information

The collection is currently being catalogued. For further information please contact the Scottish Political Archive, School of Arts and Humanities, History and Politics, University of Stirling, Stirling, FK9 4LA. Email: scottishpoliticalarchive@stir.ac.uk

Full details of the material catalogued to date (November 2012) can be found on the online archives catalogue.

Democracy for Scotland exhibition

Additional collection information

Accruals: Further additions expected.

Access: Access to the collection is currently limited as the material is currently being catalogued.

Note: The Scottish Political Archive is interested in collecting material relating to the 1979 and 1997 devolution referendums such as leaflets, posters and photographs. We are now actively collecting material relating to the 2014 referendum. If you are involved in a Yes or No group we would be interested in hearing from you and enlisting your help to collect leaflets and photographs to chronicle this important campaign for future generations. For further information please email the Scottish Political Archive at scottishpoliticalarchive@stir.ac.uk

Collection image

Poster for the Scottish Political Archives Democracy for Scotland exhibition which has visited Edinburgh, Stirling, Aberdeen and Dumfries in 2012. 

Online resources