Skip to main content

Archives & Special Collections: Amulree Jacobite Collection

Collection information

Collection: Amulree Jacobite Collection

Classmarks:

Books: Amulree

Manuscripts and objects: MS 93

Biographical/administrative history:

This collection of material relating to the Jacobites was gathered by Lord Amulree (1900-1983). The Jacobites sought to restore the Stuart monarchs to the British throne after the deposing of Catholic James II in 1688 in favour of Protestant William III and Mary. The Jacobite cause was particularly strong in the Scottish Highlands and in Ireland. Exiled in Europe, the Stuarts made several attempts to sieze power in Britain. The two main risings were the First Jacobite Rising in 1715, led by Prince James Edward Stuart ('The Old Pretender') and the Second Jacobite Rising in 1745, led by Prince Charles Edward Stuart ('Bonnie Prince Charlie' or 'The Young Pretender'). Both attempts failed, the latter ending in a crushing defeat for the Jacobites at the Battle of Culloden in April 1746.

Basil Mackenzie, 2nd Baron Amulree was a doctor specialising in geriatric care and a Liberal Peer in the House of Lords. He had a lifelong interest in the Jacobites.

Contents: Manuscripts relating to the Jacobite cause in the 18th century, including a contemporary report on the Battle of Falkirk, 1746; manuscript copy of Lord Amulree's A parting gleam: the life of Archibald Cameron; articles by Lord Amulree; transcriptions from the Stuart Papers; photographs of paintings and places connected with the Stuarts; books on Jacobite history; paintings and a crayon portrait; medals; pair of paste shoe buckles.

Extent: 1 shelf of books; 7 boxes of manuscripts and objects

Catalogue information

All of the collection is listed in the online library catalogue.

Please contact us in advance of a visit or use the request form.

Additional collection information

Custodial history: The collection was bequeathed to the University by Lord Amulree in 1983.

Accruals: None expected.

Access conditions: Please contact us in advance of a visit or use the request form.

Languages: English, French, German 

Collection image

Bonnie Prince Charlie's shoe buckles

Pair of paste shoe buckles, said to have belonged to Bonnie Prince Charlie

Using the collection

Archives Reading Room

Opening Hours:

9.30 am - 1.00 pm / 2.00 pm - 4.45 pm

Monday - Friday

Contact us:

Tel. 01786 466619

Email: archives@stir.ac.uk

Please contact us in advance of your visit and use the request form to order material you wish to consult.