Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: The Scottish Cultural Memory Project

Project Information

The aim of the Scottish Cultural Memory Project (SCMP) is to capture and preserve the memory and reality of recent Scottish cultural history and activity. It is a collaborative project funded by Creative Scotland, and established by Peter Broughan of Rob Roy Films in collaboration with The University of Stirling's Communications, Media and Culture Division.

This landmark project was established early in 2012 and this first phase of the project predominantly focused on film and television production with a series of filmed interviews, public and private, as well as the Orkney Book Festival. These interviews were conducted with prominent practitioners of culture and the arts in Scotland. We are now into Phase 2 of the project and interviews with Angus Lamont and Colin Monie have taken place with further interviews planned.

Public interviews will be held mainly at the University of Stirling campus, but also at festivals and events throughout Scotland. We recently covered the Aye Write Festival in Glasgow and are working on more prominent collaborations in the coming months. We are also constructing a regular partnership with BAFTA Scotland. The first instance of this took place in March 2013 when we filmed one of their 'in person' sessions with Mike Kelt from Glasgow-based Artem Special Effects.

A systematic, secure and comprehensive database of Scotland's screen production history can provide multiple benefits. It can serve as a practical resource for future generations of creative artists; provide a living record of the experience of screen practitioners; and it can also greatly help strengthen the Scottish screen brand. Too much of value in Scottish film and television is uncelebrated and the SCMP intends to be a celebration as well as a living memorial.

The SCMP is also increasing the opportunities available to both undergraduate and research students within the Communications, Media and Culture Division at the University of Stirling. Film students are offered the opportunity to participate in the filming of interviews as crew members under the management of SCMP, while opportunities are also provided for students in the areas of journalism, digital and social media to contribute to the project.

The SCMP will make its material available to wider audiences, including the public and academic researchers, both through the university's own resources such as its Archives & Special Collections and via broadcast and online platforms. We are also aiming to establish working relationships with other bodies, including BBC Scotland and the Macrobert Arts Centre.

Project Outputs

The following interviews have been carried out to date:

Image

Logo

Online Resources

View extracts from our interviews.

Join SCMP on Facebook

Follow SCMP on Twitter

 

Using the collection

Archives Reading Room

Opening Hours:

9.30 am - 1.00 pm / 2.00 pm - 4.45 pm

Monday - Friday

Contact us:

Tel. 01786 466619

Email: archives@stir.ac.uk

Please contact us in advance of your visit and use the request form to order material you wish to consult.