EndNote: Export to EndNote

Most databases export to referencing software as a RIS file.

If your computer settings are not configured to automatically open RIS files in EndNote:

• The RIS file will be stored in your Downloads folder.
• In EndNote, click File > Import > File.
• Click Choose and navigate to your Downloads folder, select the .ris file and click Open.
• In the Import Option box, click the drop-down menu and select Reference Manager (RIS).
• The references should appear in the Imported References group in EndNote. Select and copy them to other groups as required.

If you have a personal copy of EndNote you can download the filter that enables exporting directly from Stirling Library Catalogue into EndNote (see central panel 'Library Catalogue: Books & Journals'

1. Save a copy of the filter file (e.g. on your desktop).
2. Double-click the filter file to open in EndNote.
3. In EndNote, click “File Menu” and choose “Save as”.  Click “Save”.
4. Click on “File Menu” and choose “Close Filter”.

We will be adding exporting guidance for all the Library databases as soon as possible. If there are no instructions yet for the database you need to use please contact the Library.

Use these EbscoHost instructions for: ATLA, British Education Index, Business Source Premier, CINAHL, EconLit, Health Source, Historical Abstracts, IPSA, Philosophers Index, PsycInfo & PsycArticles and SPORTDiscus.

• Open a new tab and search an EBSCO database (e.g. Historical Abstracts, Business Source Premier, CINAHL, PsycINFO etc.) for articles
• Click the folder with a plus symbol  to select the references to export
• Click the Folder tab at the top of the page
• Select some or all of the references to confirm that you wish to export them.
• Click Export
• Click Direct Export in RIS Format (e.g. CITAVI, EasyBib, EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager, Zotero).
• Click Save
• On the pop-up at the bottom of the screen – click Open.
• In the Choose Destination window select EndNote then OK.
• The references should appear in the Imported References group. Select and copy them to other groups as required.
• Check the records and edit them if necessary. 

EBSCO only allows you to add 50 records to the Folder at any one time - so if you have a very large number of records you want to export there is an alternative option. On the results page, select the Share option, then "Email a link to download exported results" - see the detailed guide on Exporting large numbers of records from EBSCO databases.

For multiple references (you need to have a Google account to use this feature):

• Login to Google Scholar
• Click the Star icon  below any references in Google Scholar
• Select My Library (top right)
• Click the checkbox at the top of the list to select all references
• Select the Export icon (looks like an arrow)
• Select EndNote
• Select Open to import the references directly into Endnote Desktop

Alternatively, for one reference:

• Click the Cite icon (looks like a quotation mark)  below any reference in Google Scholar
• Select EndNote
• Select Open to import the reference directly into Endnote Desktop

Use these ProQuest instructions for: ASFA, ASSIA, ATLA, Australian & British Education Index, Biological Sciences, British Humanities Index, Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management, ERIC, IBSS and LLBA.

1. Search one of the ProQuest databases (ASFA, British Humanities Index, IPSA etc.) for articles
2. Check the box next to the reference(s) you wish to export
3. Click Save and select RIS (works with EndNote, Citavi etc.)
4. Modify the export options if you wish.
5. Click Continue
6. On the pop-up at the bottom of the screen – click Open.
7. In the Choose Destination window select EndNote then OK.
8. The references should appear in the Imported References group. Select and copy them to other groups as required.
9. Check the records and edit them if necessary.

ProQuest normally only allows direct export of up to 50 records at a time. See instructions below if you need to export large numbers of references.

Export up to 10,000 records from ProQuest databases (except those with records from ASFA - Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts - see Natural Science Collection note below).

• Researchers must have a ProQUest My Research account and be logged into it.  Otherwise, the Export Results hyperlink will not appear.  
• The option is only available if the total search results are 10,000 or less. 
• Users may only request 2 exports per day.  
• Results are not downloaded immediately.  They will be available in the Saved Searches section of My Research.

See ProQuest Guidance: How can I export all my search results? for detailed instructions.

The exported RIS file will appear in your downloads folder.:

• If RIS files are associated with EndNote on your computer, EndNote should open when you double click on the downloaded file.
• Alternatively, in EndNote > File > Import > File > Choose (and navigate to the downloaded file, select it and click Open).
• Import Option = RefMan RIS
• Change the Duplicates and Text translation files if you wish.
• Click Import.
• The references should appear in the Imported References group. Select and copy them to other groups as required.
• Check the records and edit them if necessary.

Exporting from Natural Sciences Collection or Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Collection

The 'Export Results' function is not compatible with databases that include Aquatic Sciences references.

• Before starting a search in Natural Sciences Collection, click the 3 lines for more options at the top left of the screen > Change Databases > Scroll down to Natural Science Collection > click the + next to 'Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Collection' to view the sub-databases > Uncheck ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts.

• Open a new tab for the University Portal select Succeed and choose your Resource List
• From the Resource List select the Export Citations link at the top left hand side of the screen, or if you are looking at individual references select the Export citation link that appears below the resource title.
• Select EndNote
• The references should appear in the Imported References group. Select and copy them to other groups as required.
• Check the records and edit if necessary

• Tick the checkbox next to the reference(s) you wish to export.
• Click the Export button. This is positioned to the left of the Download button. If records have already been exported, the link may change to the last format used e.g. RIS export.
• Choose EndNote RIS.
• Click Export.
• You should get a popup downloads box containing your RIS file. Click to open the file directly into EndNote (see guidance below if your computer settings do not automatically associate RIS files with EndNote).
• The references should appear in the Imported References group in EndNote. Select and copy them to other groups as required.
• Check the records and edit them if necessary.

IMPORTANT: if your computer settings do not automatically open RIS files in EndNote:

• The RIS file will be stored in your Downloads folder.
• In EndNote, click File > Import > File.
• Click Choose and navigate to your Downloads folder, select the .ris file and click Open.
• In the Import Option box, click the drop-down menu and select Reference Manager (RIS).
• The references should appear in the Imported References group in EndNote. Select and copy them to other groups as required.

• Search for articles in Web of Science.
• Check the boxes next to the references you wish to export.
• If you wish to export only those references selected on a particular screen simply choose EndNote desktop from the drop-down list.

• To export references selected on more than one screen click Add to Marked List and when you have finished selectingfrom each page, click Marked List (at the top of the page).
• Change the export criteria if required and select EndNote Desktop from the drop-down list.

• Click any popup with the records from WoS that appears on your screen 
• The references should appear in the Imported References group in EndNote. Select and copy them to other groups as required.
• Check the records and edit them if necessary.

Check the boxes next to each reference you wish to export then click the Export button.

Alternatively, export up to 1000 references at a time.

• In the box which says Range, type 1-1000
• Click export and select your referencing software e.g. EndNote, RefWorks etc. as usual
• Repeat this process for each 1000 references - 1001-2000 etc.

• Search for articles in PubMed
• Select individual articles. Alternatively if you wish to export all articles (e.g. for systematic review) do not select any individual articles.
• Click 'Send to' and select 'Citation Manager' 
•  Choose from the 'Selection' dropdown menu 'All Results' (or alternatively just those on the page or those you have selected).
• Click 'Create File'. The file should save to your downloads folder as with a .nbib extension.
• In 'EndNote' go to 'File' > Import > File.
• In the 'Import File' box:
  • Click 'Choose' and navigate to the file to be imported.
  • In the Import Option drop-down menu choose PubMed if it is in the list. If PubMed does not appear automatically, choose the 'Other Filters' option and select 'PubMed' from the list. [Note, if this is the first time you have used Other Filters, the list may take time to load - please be patient].
• Click Import. The references will be imported to the 'Imported References' Group. Select and move them to the appropriate Group.

Follow the ClinicalTrials.gov guidance: How to Download Study Records and select the RIS format.

If your computer settings are not configured to automatically open RIS files in EndNote follow the RIS Files guidance on left of this page.

Check the guides on this EndNote help page. Check the tabs at the top for more information.

If you can't find what you need contact library@stir.ac.uk

There is no instant way to convert references created manually in Word.

For small numbers of references search by article title in Scopus or Web of Science etc. Add references to a 'list' or 'folder' within the database and export them all simultaneously to EndNote or RefWorks.

 A few reference management systems e.g. CiteReady allow you to paste a list of Word references which are converted to referencing software format and you can export them for use in EndNote or RefWorks. The quality of these references will be variable and you need to check and edit carefully. See instructions below.