These links provide guidance on exporting from University of Stirling databases. Contact us if the database you want is not here.
Use these EbscoHost instructions for: ATLA, Business Source Premier, CINAHL, EconLit, Health Source, Historical Abstracts, IPSA, Philosophers Index, PsycInfo & PsycArticles, SPORTDiscus and Stirgate.
EBSCO only allows you to add 50 records to the Folder at any one time - so if you have a very large number of records you want to export there is an alternative option. On the results page, select the Share option, then "Email a link to download exported results" - see the detailed guide on Exporting large numbers of records from EBSCO databases.
Use these ProQuest instructions for: ASFA, ASSIA, ATLA, Australian & British Education Index, Biological Sciences, British Humanities Index, Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management, ERIC, IBSS and LLBA.
Unfortunately it is more cumbersome to export from Emerald. This is something Emerald hope to improve in future.
(Get more instructions at: http://www.emeraldinsight.com/help/user/citation.htm )
Note: You must create your own profile in Emerald in order to export references to RefWorks. Click Register and complete the necessary details. Once you have registered you should always Login if you wish to export references.
Alternatively you can export up to 10 references in a 'session' without login.
Exporting Individual References from Google Scholar
· On the Google Scholar home page click
· In the Bibliography Manager Section select Show links to import citations into and select RefWorks from the drop-down list.
· Each reference should now have an Import to RefWorks link.
Using RefGrab-It to Export Multiple References to RefWorks
RefGrab-It enables you to export a whole page of references or a selection of references from Google Scholar to RefWorks.
Note: RefGrab-It only works with Internet Explorer or Firefox.
Right click on the ‘RefGrab-It’ link and select ‘Add to Favorites’ and choose to Create in ‘Favorites Ba’r (in Firefox select ‘Bookmark this Link’ and ‘Bookmarks Toolbar)’
Using RefGrab-It with Google Scholar
Search for References in Google Scholar and then click the RefGrab-It bookmarklet in your Favourites or Bookmarks tool bar.
In the RefGrab-It box, select the references that you wish to export.
Make sure that the ‘timer’ in the RefGrab-It box has stopped and is no longer visible in the RefGrab-It box (see image on next page).
Click ‘Import to RefWorks’
If RefGrab-It does not work well in Internet Explorer (e.g. if the ‘timer’ keeps working and the page will not load), try using Firefox
Be patient and wait until the ‘timer’ has stopped and the page has fully loaded before clicking ‘Import to RefWorks’ or you may find that not all your references appear in RefWorks
RefGrab-It can only export some or all references from a single page in Google Scholar. You have to repeat the process described above for each page of references.
Only references from the Law Journal Library may be exported to RefWorks.
Exporting Multiple References - choose one of the following options:
Formatting a Word document for export to RefWorks is detailed and time-consuming. If your list includes mostly journal articles it may be quicker to search and export the references from StirGate.
If you wish to export from Word, use one of the following guides.
Many databases do not provide direct export to RefWorks but may provide one of the following methods:
It is not possible to export or import from the following databases. You can manually enter the references or try searching and exporting them from Stirgate or Google Scholar.