Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Library Catalogue
Sage Research Methods
Supporting research at all levels Sage Research Methods brings you books, chapters, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos. See Case Studies of real research projects and practice on Datasets (these can also be used for teaching).
The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best techniques.
More tips, videos and guidance available a the Sage Research Methods help pages.
It is important to critically analyse information before you use it in an essay, report or assignment. These websites suggest how to evaluate the quality of different types of information. For further assistance with this, please ask in the Library.
Recommended Websites for Health Visiting
Campbell Collaboration Library of Systematic Reviews
Source of systematic reviews and evidence based practice in the fields of social welfare; crime and criminal justice; education; disability; international development; knowledge translation and implementation; nutrition.
The Campbell Collaboration promotes positive social and economic change through the production and use of systematic reviews and other evidence synthesis for evidence-based policy and practice.
Welcome to the Subject Research Guide for Health. Use this guide to find journal articles, books and websites for your studies.
If you have a suggestion for a resource to add - let us know
Recommended Resources from the A-Z
Use these databases to find journal articles.
Full text access to articles on nursing and allied fields, health education, emergency services, occupational therapy, etc.
Covers material from 1982.
Provides full text access to 550 journals. Also abstracts and indexing for 850 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Provides full text access to articles realted to all aspects of sociology and the social sciences
Internurse provides full text articles from 18 major nursing journals.
The Knowledge Network is the new name for NHS Scotland e-Library. It provides access to a wide range of databases, electronic journals, clinical guidelines and websites in all aspects of healthcare. Some materials are freely available to the public. Students and staff in the Department of Nursing and Midwifery and those working in partnership with the NHS can apply for an Athens username and password to access the full range of resources on this site.
Medline - via OVID
An index to the health, medical, biomedical and nursing literature. OVID Medline contains references from over 4000 journals. It covers the period 1946 to present and is updated weekly.
Medline - via EBSCO
Medline covers medicine and nursing. It is created by the National Library of Medicine and uses MESH subject headings to locate resources.
The major resource for information on evidenced based medicine. The Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
DARE includes systematic reviews that evaluate the effects of health and social care interventions and the delivery and organisation of health and social care services.
NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHSEED)
NHS EED includes economic evaluations of health and social care . From 1994 to March 2015.
International HTA Database
Search records of completed and ongoing health technology assessments (HTAs) from around the world. A valuable source for identifying grey literature as much of the information it contains is only available directly from individual funding agencies. (The database was previously produced by the CRD as the HTA database).
Sage Research Methods Collection
Helps researchers and students with their research projects. Includes more than 800 ebooks with supporting dictionary articles, journal entries, videos and cases. Also provides access to more than 150 teaching datasets taken from real research projects, to support quantitative and qualitative analytical methods.
There is an excellent help page here http://sagepub.libguides.com/research-methods/researchmethods
Additional databases for Health Visiting
In addition to the databases listed above, here are some other recommended resources for those studying Health Visiting.
The largest international abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources. Searches 45.5 million records from 5,000 different publishers covering many different subjects.
Web of Science Core Collection
Provides access to the Citation Indexes for: Science; Social Sciences; Arts & Humanities; Conference Proceedings and Books. Use for finding journal articles and conference papers. Databases can be searched simultaneously or select specific databases using the More Settings option.
Social Services Knowledge Scotland
A gateway to information and resources about social care in Scotland. Some information is freely available, other information is only available to holders of NHS Scotland Athens accounts. Includes information and resources previously accessible from ReSearchWeb which was discontinued at the end of March 2010
Index to over 1.5 million journal articles, book chapters and dissertations all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Journal coverage starts in 1887.
The Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN) produces national clinical guidelines containing recommendations for effective healthcare practice based on current evidence.
Child Development and Adolescent Studies
Search here to retrieve references about child development.
Social Care Online
Produced by Social Care Institute for Excellence, Social Care Online provides access to resources for all aspects of social care. Includes policy documents, government publications and practice orientated books and articles. From 1st April 2013 it will be necessary to register and sign in to download material from Social Care Online. Registration is free.
NICE (National Institute for Health & Care Excellence)
A source of clinical guidelines and evidence based healthcare information.
Your Librarian - Stirling Campus
Literature search planning template
Literature Searching Videos
Literature Searching Slides
Recommended Websites for Health Research
Scottish Health Policies and Strategies
A useful index of Scottish Government health policy documents, with a particular emphasis on health improvement. Topics include health inequalities, cancer and mental health and well-being. Also included on this website are links to overarching health policies.
SHOW - Scotland's Health On the Web
Online health information from NHS Scotland
British National Formulary (BNF)
Holders of NHS Scotland Athens passwords can access the BNF by clicking on "Sign in via Open Athens" and entering their Knowledge Network account details.