Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Library Catalogue
It is important to critically analyse information before you use it in an essay, report or assignment. These websites suggest how to evaluate the quality of different types of information. For further assistance with this, please ask in the Library.
Information and research skills
Welcome to the Subject Research Guide for Spanish and Latin American Studies.
If you have a suggestion for a resource to add - let us know
Recommended Resources from the A-Z
Use these databases to find journal articles. For guidance about searching see our Information and Research Skills guide.
MLA International Bibliography
Index to articles, books and dissertations on literature, language and film.
World history (excluding United States and Canada) from 1450 onwards; includes other subject areas presented from a historical perspective.
Provides full text access to articles related to communication, linguistics, film & media
Political Science Complete
Provides full text access to articles and conferences paper related to all aspects of political science.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Provides full text access to articles realted to all aspects of sociology and the social sciences
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
An index to articles, letters, editorials, etc published in over 1,300 journals worldwide. Part of the Web of Science Core Collection.
Project Muse provides full text access to a wide range of journals. We subscribe to the Humanities Collection only.
Humanities Index - previously British Humanities Index
Covers 1962 to date. Abstracts from over 400 sources in the areas of literature, the arts, cinema, economics, history, current affairs, popular science, religion, music and architecture.
A collection of databases containing the content of over 23,000 news and business resources from all over the world.
European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750
A bibliography of works printed in Europe which relate to the Americas before 1750.
Searchable digital archive collection of core scholarly journals, many starting with the first issue (some of which date from the 1800s). Stirling University has full-text access to the Collections: Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences II, Arts & Sciences III, Biological Sciences Archive and Ireland Collection. We also have access to the 19th Century British Pamphlets collection.
PAO : Periodicals Archive Online
Full text backfiles of international academic journals in the humanities and social sciences. Files run from the late 18th century to the late 20th century.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
Bibliography on Latin America, continuously published since 1935, consisting of works selected and annotated by academics from around the world. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.
SocArXiv - Open archive of the social sciences
SocArXiv is a free open access archive for the social sciences. It holds working papers, preprints and published papers - some documents have links to data and code. (A pre-print is: "a manuscript draft that has not yet been subject to formal peer review, distributed to receive early feedback on research from peers").
Access to over 50 million digital resources from Europe's museums, archives, art galleries, libraries and audiovisual collections. Sources include the Louvre, the Rijksmuseum and the British Library.
Suggest a Book for the Library