It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The databases listed below contain research in Spanish and Latin American Studies (journal articles and book articles). Choose a database appropriate for your specific topic. The MLA International Bibliography is a good general database in this subject.
Choosing keywords. Try searching on alternative keywords if you don't get the results you expect.
Combining search terms. Combine concepts with AND. Combine alternative keywords with OR, e.g. (film OR cinema) AND (horror or suspense)
Phrase searching. Try putting common phrases in quotation marks, e.g. "industrial revolution"
Truncation/wildcard. Put an asterisk at the end of the stem of the word to search for any letters which come after it, e.g. film* will find film, films, filming, etc.
Refining search. Refine your search using the filters available, e.g. date, language
Evaluating results. Read the abstract and subject headings to decide whether the article is relevant to your research.
Finding full text. If you don't see a PDF link, try clicking on the WebBridge button - this may take you to the full text. If not, see Step 3 below.
Searchable digital archive collection of core scholarly journals, many starting with the first issue (some of which date from the 1800s). Stirling University has full-text access to the Collections: Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences II, Arts & Sciences III, Biological Sciences Archive and Ireland Collection. We also have access to the 19th Century British Pamphlets collection.
Bibliography on Latin America, continuously published since 1935, consisting of works selected and annotated by academics from around the world. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.
SocArXiv is a free open access archive for the social sciences. It holds working papers, preprints and published papers - some documents have links to data and code. (A pre-print is: "a manuscript draft that has not yet been subject to formal peer review, distributed to receive early feedback on research from peers").
Step 4: Evaluate web sources
It is important to critically analyse information before you use it in an essay, report or assignment.
A project of the Ministerio de Cultura. This website provides access to digital archives and repositories from libraries, museum and universities in Spain. You can use this website search of millions of online ebooks, journal articles, working papers, primary sources and more.
A table of contents serive to over 870 journals published in Latin America between 1994 and 2009. Use this to identify journal articles on topics relating to Latin America. Copy the journal title into the Library Catalogue to check for access at Stirling