Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Library Catalogue
It is important to critically analyse information before you use it in an essay, report or assignment. These websites suggest how to evaluate the quality of different types of information. For further assistance with this, please ask in the Library.
Information and research skills
Welcome to the Subject Research Guide for French Studies.
If you have a suggestion for a resource to add - let us know
Recommended Resources for finding secondary literature
Use these databases to find journal articles and books. For guidance about searching see our Information and Research Skills guide.
MLA International Bibliography
Index to articles, books and dissertations on literature, language and film.
Project Muse provides full text access to a wide range of journals. We subscribe to the Humanities Collection only.
Provides full text access to articles related to communication, linguistics, film & media
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
An index to articles, letters, editorials, etc published in over 1,300 journals worldwide. Part of the Web of Science Core Collection.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Provides full text access to articles realted to all aspects of sociology and the social sciences
SocArXiv - Open archive of the social sciences
SocArXiv is a free open access archive for the social sciences. It holds working papers, preprints and published papers - some documents have links to data and code. (A pre-print is: "a manuscript draft that has not yet been subject to formal peer review, distributed to receive early feedback on research from peers").
World history (excluding United States and Canada) from 1450 onwards; includes other subject areas presented from a historical perspective.
Searchable digital archive collection of core scholarly journals, many starting with the first issue (some of which date from the 1800s). Stirling University has full-text access to the Collections: Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences II, Arts & Sciences III, Biological Sciences Archive and Ireland Collection. We also have access to the 19th Century British Pamphlets collection.
PAO : Periodicals Archive Online
Full text backfiles of international academic journals in the humanities and social sciences. Files run from the late 18th century to the late 20th century.
Recommended websites for French Studies
Here are some suggested websites for French Studies, send us your suggestions: firstname.lastname@example.org
Students of French may wish to use Nexis to search for French language newspaper articles from major publications including Le Monde and Le Figaro. To limit your search to materials in French use the drop down menu under the search boxes and select "French language news".
Assemblée nationale - Archives
This website provides access to the full text of historical materials from the French Parliament. It also includes biographical information on French MPs since 1789, the full text of the current and historic French constitution and parliamentary debates.
Access to journal articles in French covering a wide range of disciplines including art, history, language and society. Some materials are freely available online, others are not. If the article you require is not freely available you may be able to obtain it via our Article Request Service
Culture.fr : le portail de la Culture
A useful resource for anyone with an interest in French culture. Sections include museums, cinema, French language and literature, music and theatre. The website is in French with a small amount of content available in English and Spanish.
Digital resources from Institut Français du Royaume-Uni. Contains digital cultural materials (ebooks, films, audio)about France. Free registration is required to access all content.
Dictionnaires d'autrefois | The ARTFL Project
The ARTFL Project at the University of Chicago enables simultaneous searching of Jean Nicot's Thresor de la langue francaise (1606) and the Dictionnaire de l'Academie francaise in its 1st (1694), 5th (1798) and 6th (1835) editions.
French Revolution Digital Archive
A collection of digital resources of value for anyone researching the French Revolution. A collaboration between Stanford University Libraries and the Bibliothèque Nationale de France.
Gallica, Bibliotheque nationale de France digital library
Searchable online collection of 70000 resources at the Bibliotheque Nationale de France, including the full text of classic French literature from the Middle Ages to the 19th century. An app version is available from the App Store or Google Play
Cross searches a range of resources including databases, open access repositories and the French National Archives.
L'Histoire par l'image
Access to historic paintings and photographs relating to the history of France and covering the period 1789 - 1939. Resources can be search by date or by theme. Contextual information is also provided. Created by the French Ministry of Culture and Communication. All material is in French.
Les Signets de la Bibliothèque Nationale de France
A French language subject gateway to high quality and up to date websites, produced by the French National Library.
Access to electronic books (mostly in French). More than half are open access (fully available online for free). Topics include arts and humanities, history, sociology, literatire and politics.
Access to the PASCAL database, an index to the humanities and social sciences literature. Many of the references contained are in French, although several other languages are included. Use this to identify journal articles of interest. Copy the journal title into the Library Catalogue to check for access at Stirling.
Access to most French theses.
Watch French language programmes from the French television network.
UniFrance supports, analyses and raises the profile of French films worldwide. The website is available in French and English, as well as Spanish and Japanese.
Francophone Africa Archive
Digital archive of resources on colonisation and its aftermath
Suggest a Book for the Library