It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
It is important to critically analyse information before you use it in an essay, report or assignment. These websites suggest how to evaluate the quality of different types of information. For further assistance with this, please ask in the Library.
The databases listed below contain research in French Studies (journal articles and book articles). Choose a database appropriate for your specific topic. The MLA International Bibliography is a good general database for literature and language topics, but look at the other databases, particularly if your topic relates to History.
Choosing keywords. Try searching on alternative keywords if you don't get the results you expect.
Combining search terms. Combine concepts with AND. Combine alternative keywords with OR, e.g. (film OR cinema) AND (horror or suspense)
Phrase searching. Try putting common phrases in quotation marks, e.g. "industrial revolution"
Truncation/wildcard. Put an asterisk at the end of the stem of the word to search for any letters which come after it, e.g. film* will find film, films, filming, etc.
Refining search. Refine your search using the filters available, e.g. date, language
Evaluating results. Read the abstract and subject headings to decide whether the article is relevant to your research.
Finding full text. If you don't see a PDF link, try clicking on the WebBridge button - this may take you to the full text. If not, see Step 3 below.
SocArXiv is a free open access archive for the social sciences. It holds working papers, preprints and published papers - some documents have links to data and code. (A pre-print is: "a manuscript draft that has not yet been subject to formal peer review, distributed to receive early feedback on research from peers").
Searchable digital archive collection of core scholarly journals, many starting with the first issue (some of which date from the 1800s). Stirling University has full-text access to the Collections: Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences II, Arts & Sciences III, Biological Sciences Archive and Ireland Collection. We also have access to the 19th Century British Pamphlets collection.
Access to journal articles in French covering a wide range of disciplines including art, history, language and society. Some materials are freely available online, others are not. If the article you require is not freely available you may be able to obtain it via our Article Request Service
Index to the humanities and social sciences literature. Many of the references contained are in French, although several other languages are included. Use this to identify journal articles of interest, then check our library catalogue for journal access.
Students of French may wish to use Nexis to search for French language newspaper articles from major publications such as Le Figaro. To limit your search to materials in French use the drop down menu under the search boxes and select "French language news".
This website provides access to the full text of historical materials from the French Parliament. It also includes biographical information on French MPs since 1789, the full text of the current and historic French constitution and parliamentary debates.
A useful resource for anyone with an interest in French culture. Sections include museums, cinema, French language and literature, music and theatre. The website is in French with a small amount of content available in English and Spanish.
The ARTFL Project at the University of Chicago enables simultaneous searching of Jean Nicot's Thresor de la langue francaise (1606) and the Dictionnaire de l'Academie francaise in its 1st (1694), 5th (1798) and 6th (1835) editions.
Searchable online collection of 70000 resources at the Bibliotheque Nationale de France, including the full text of classic French literature from the Middle Ages to the 19th century. An app version is available from the App Store or Google Play
Access to historic paintings and photographs relating to the history of France and covering the period 1789 - 1939. Resources can be search by date or by theme. Contextual information is also provided. Created by the French Ministry of Culture and Communication. All material is in French.