Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Library Catalogue
It is important to critically analyse information before you use it in an essay, report or assignment. These websites suggest how to evaluate the quality of different types of information. For further assistance with this, please ask in the Library.
Information and research skills
Welcome to the Subject Research Guide for Linguistics and English Language.
You may also be interested in the Subject Research Guide for English as a Foreign Language.
If you have a suggestion for a resource to add - let us know
Recommended resources for finding journal articles
Use these databases to find journal articles. For guidance about searching see our Information and Research Skills guide.
Provides full text access to articles related to communication, linguistics, film & media
MLA International Bibliography
Index to articles, books and dissertations on literature, language and film.
Humanities Index - previously British Humanities Index
Covers 1962 to date. Abstracts from over 400 sources in the areas of literature, the arts, cinema, economics, history, current affairs, popular science, religion, music and architecture.
Web of Science Core Collection
Provides access to the Citation Indexes for: Science; Social Sciences; Arts & Humanities; Conference Proceedings and Books. Use for finding journal articles and conference papers. Databases can be searched simultaneously or select specific databases using the More Settings option.
Project Muse provides full text access to a wide range of journals. We subscribe to the Humanities Collection only.
Searchable digital archive collection of core scholarly journals, many starting with the first issue (some of which date from the 1800s). Stirling University has full-text access to the Collections: Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences II, Arts & Sciences III, Biological Sciences Archive and Ireland Collection. We also have access to the 19th Century British Pamphlets collection.
PAO : Periodicals Archive Online
Full text backfiles of international academic journals in the humanities and social sciences. Files run from the late 18th century to the late 20th century.
SocArXiv - Open archive of the social sciences
SocArXiv is a free open access archive for the social sciences. It holds working papers, preprints and published papers - some documents have links to data and code. (A pre-print is: "a manuscript draft that has not yet been subject to formal peer review, distributed to receive early feedback on research from peers").
OOIR (Observatory of International Research)
Tracks “social science” journals to continually list their latest papers. Covers Anthropology, Area Studies, Communication, Geography, History, Law, Political Science and Sociology.
Recommended websites for Linguistics and English Language
British National Corpus
This site provides access to a huge (over 100 million words) of written and spoken English from the late 20th century.
Oxford Text Archive
A searchable repository of literary and linguistics resources.
Sounds familiar? Accents and dialects of the UK
From the British Library, this website provides information and recordings about the variety of accents and dialects in the UK in the second half of the twentieth century. Works in the Chrome web browser.
Dictionary of the Scots Language
Access to two online Scottish language dictionaries: the Dictionary of the Older Scottish Tongue (covers the period from the 12th century to 1700) and the more modern Scottish National Dictionary (1700 - 2005). Over 77,000 entries.
Dictionary of Old English
Letters A - I are available online
Middle English Compendium
Access to Middle English electronic resources. Cross search: the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and verse. (Taken from the About Us page)
British Association for Applied Linguistics
Website of a professional association for those with an interest in language and linguistics.
Linguistics Association of Great Britain
Website of a professional association for academic linguistics in Britain. This organisation publishes the Journal of Linguistics which is available electronically for staff and students at the University of Stirling from 1965 to present. To access, search the library catalogue for Journal of Linguistics.
Centre for Languages, Linguistics and Area Studies
Website of a UK based group which undertakes research in languages.
Suggest a Book for the Library