It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The databases listed below contain research in Linguistics and English Language (journal articles and book articles). Choose a database appropriate for your specific topic. Communication Source is a good general database in this subject.
Choosing keywords. Try searching on alternative keywords if you don't get the results you expect.
Combining search terms. Combine concepts with AND. Combine alternative keywords with OR, e.g. (film OR cinema) AND (horror or suspense)
Phrase searching. Try putting common phrases in quotation marks, e.g. "industrial revolution"
Truncation/wildcard. Put an asterisk at the end of the stem of the word to search for any letters which come after it, e.g. film* will find film, films, filming, etc.
Refining search. Refine your search using the filters available, e.g. date, language
Evaluating results. Read the abstract and subject headings to decide whether the article is relevant to your research.
Finding full text. If you don't see a PDF link, try clicking on the WebBridge button - this may take you to the full text. You can also download the LibkeyNomad browser plug-in, which will provide access to articles. If we don't have the article, see Step 3 below (If the library doesn't have the book/article).
Provides access to the Citation Indexes for: Science; Social Sciences; Arts & Humanities; Conference Proceedings and Books. Use for finding journal articles and conference papers. Databases can be searched simultaneously or select specific databases using the More Settings option.
Searchable digital archive collection of core scholarly journals, many starting with the first issue (some of which date from the 1800s). Stirling University has full-text access to the Collections: Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences II, Arts & Sciences III, Biological Sciences Archive and Ireland Collection. We also have access to the 19th Century British Pamphlets collection.
SocArXiv is a free open access archive for the social sciences. It holds working papers, preprints and published papers - some documents have links to data and code. (A pre-print is: "a manuscript draft that has not yet been subject to formal peer review, distributed to receive early feedback on research from peers").
From the British Library, this website provides information and recordings about the variety of accents and dialects in the UK in the second half of the twentieth century. Works in the Chrome web browser.
Access to two online Scottish language dictionaries: the Dictionary of the Older Scottish Tongue (covers the period from the 12th century to 1700) and the more modern Scottish National Dictionary (1700 - 2005). Over 77,000 entries.
Access to Middle English electronic resources. Cross search: the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and verse. (Taken from the About Us page)
Website of a professional association for academic linguistics in Britain. This organisation publishes the Journal of Linguistics which is available electronically for staff and students at the University of Stirling from 1965 to present. To access, search the library catalogue for Journal of Linguistics.