Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
It is important to critically analyse information before you use it in an essay, report or assignment. These websites suggest how to evaluate the quality of different types of information. For further assistance with this, please ask in the Library.
Welcome to the Subject Research Guide for Social Work
If you have a suggestion for a resource to add - let us know
Recommended Resources from the A-Z
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to articles realted to all aspects of sociology and the social sciences
Scopus This link opens in a new window
The largest international abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources. Searches 45.5 million records from 5,000 different publishers covering many different subjects.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the Citation Indexes for: Science; Social Sciences; Arts & Humanities; Conference Proceedings and Books. Use for finding journal articles and conference papers. Databases can be searched simultaneously or select specific databases using the More Settings option.
Campbell Collaboration Library of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
Source of systematic reviews and evidence based practice in the fields of social welfare; crime and criminal justice; education; disability; international development; knowledge translation and implementation; nutrition.
The Campbell Collaboration promotes positive social and economic change through the production and use of systematic reviews and other evidence synthesis for evidence-based policy and practice.
Child Development and Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window
Search here to retrieve references about child development.
Emerald This link opens in a new window
Fulltext electronic library includes 110 journals on marketing, general management, human resources and other management areas.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to articles and conferences paper related to all aspects of political science.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with full text This link opens in a new window
Provide full text of articles related to criminology, criminal justice, criminal law, policing, prisons, substance abuse and addiction, probation and parole.
Sage Research Methods Collection This link opens in a new window
Helps researchers and students with their research projects. Includes more than 800 ebooks with supporting dictionary articles, journal entries, videos and cases. Also provides access to more than 150 teaching datasets taken from real research projects, to support quantitative and qualitative analytical methods.
There is an excellent help page here http://sagepub.libguides.com/research-methods/researchmethods
Academic Liaison Librarian
Literature Search Planning Template