Skip to Main Content

Referencing Guide: Other referencing styles

Referencing styles used at University of Stirling

Although Harvard Cite Them Right is the most commonly used referencing style at University of Stirling, a few departments within the university use other styles which are better suited to their discipline.

Cite Them Right provides guidance on how to reference materials in all the referencing styles used at Stirling. 

Referencing styles

A range of referencing styles are used in different subject areas within the University. Mostly you will use a single referencing style but if you study modules in different subject areas you may need to use more than one.

See the list below to find the style you should use. If your subject or Faculty does not appear in the list, contact the Library or your tutor for advice.  Also consult your module handbooks to check for any special requirements.

Click the tabs for guidance on referencing in the style required by your subject.  

Aquaculture Harvard Cite Them Right
BES (Biology & Environmental Science) including Geography Harvard Cite Them Right
Communications, Media & Culture (film & media studies, journalism)

Harvard Cite Them Right
Computing Science IEEE
Education Harvard Cite Them Right
English Chicago (Notes & Bibliography)
Health Sciences (nursing, health visiting and paramedic science) Harvard Cite Them Right
Heritage Chicago (Notes & Bibliography) or Harvard Cite Them Right
History Chicago (Notes & Bibliography) 

Housing

Harvard Cite Them Right
Languages Harvard Cite Them Right
Law OSCOLA
Management Harvard Cite Them Right
Philosophy Harvard Cite Them Right
Politics Harvard Cite Them Right
Psychology APA (7th Ed.)
Religious Studies Chicago (Notes & Bibliography) 
Sport

Harvard Cite Them Right for some courses (including UG Sports Studies) 

APA (7th Ed.) for some courses

Please check with your Programme Director if unsure which. 
Social Sciences (dementia studies, sociology, social policy, criminology, social work) Harvard Cite Them Right

The Harvard referencing style is a author-date citation system used in many subjects. Cite Them Right provides guidance on how to use the Harvard referencing style. 

The American Psychological Association (APA) referencing style is a author-date citation system used in some social sciences subjects. Cite Them Right provides guidance on how to use the APA 7th edition referencing style.

There are two formats within the Chicago referencing style: notes and bibliography (NB), and author-date. The Chicago NB format is often used in the humanities. The author-date format is often used in social sciences. Cite Them Right  provides guidance on how to use both formats of the Chicago referencing style.

The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) referencing style is a numeric citation system used in engineering, electronics, computer science and information technology publications. Cite Them Right  provides guidance on how to use the IEEE referencing style.

      For other journal abbreviations try the CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool or Web of Science Journal Title Abbreviations.

Using IEEE with Referencing Software e.g. EndNote or RefWorks

References imported to EndNote or RefWorks may need to be edited to ensure correct IEEE formatting in the bibliography, for example:

  • Journal Title Abbreviations: if your bibliography gives the full journal name instead of the abbreviation, check how abbreviations are handled in EndNote or RefWorks and edit accordingly.
  • Non-English Language Sources - IEEE recommends that you give the language of journal articles or other sources if they are not in English e.g.: E. P. Wigner, “On a modification of the Rayleigh–Schrodinger perturbation theory,” (in German), Math. Naturwiss. Anz. Ungar. Akad. Wiss., vol. 53, p. 475, 1935.
    You may have to specify the language to the 'language' field in EndNote or RefWorks if it does not appear in your bibliography. Alternatively, if your bibliography includes (in eng) you may need to remove 'English' from the language field.

OSCOLA (Oxford University Standard for the Citation Of Legal Authorities) is the referencing style used in the Law School at University of Stirling.

See more guidance and examples including the OSCOLA Quick Reference Guide, OSCOLA Mini Guide and the full OSCOLA manual at: https://libguides.stir.ac.uk/law/oscola.

The Vancouver referencing style is a numeric citation system used in biomedical, health and some science publications. Cite Them Right online provides guidance on how to use the Vancouver referencing style.

Harvard Stirling

Previously the University used a Stirling version of Harvard.  If you are continuing with an assignment or piece of work that you began while using Harvard Stirling you can continue to do so.  Guidance for Harvard Stirling is available here.

If you are embarking on a new piece of work please use Cite Them Right.