Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Library Catalogue
It is important to critically analyse information before you use it in an essay, report or assignment. These websites suggest how to evaluate the quality of different types of information. For further assistance with this, please ask in the Library.
Information and research skills
Welcome to the Subject Research Guide for Public Relations.
If you have a suggestion for a resource to add - let us know
Recommended Resources from the A-Z
Use these databases to find journal articles and case studies. For guidance about searching see our Information and Research Skills guide.
Business Source Complete
A business, management and economics database with full text for more than 2,300 journals with more than 1,100 from academic titles. This database provides some full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998.
Provides full text access to articles related to communication, linguistics, film & media
The largest international abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources. Searches 45.5 million records from 5,000 different publishers covering many different subjects.
Web of Science Core Collection
Provides access to the Citation Indexes for: Science; Social Sciences; Arts & Humanities; Conference Proceedings and Books. Use for finding journal articles and conference papers. Databases can be searched simultaneously or select specific databases using the More Settings option.
Humanities Index - previously British Humanities Index
Covers 1962 to date. Abstracts from over 400 sources in the areas of literature, the arts, cinema, economics, history, current affairs, popular science, religion, music and architecture.
SocArXiv - Open archive of the social sciences
SocArXiv is a free open access archive for the social sciences. It holds working papers, preprints and published papers - some documents have links to data and code. (A pre-print is: "a manuscript draft that has not yet been subject to formal peer review, distributed to receive early feedback on research from peers").
OOIR (Observatory of International Research)
Tracks “social science” journals to continually list their latest papers. Covers Anthropology, Area Studies, Communication, Geography, History, Law, Political Science and Sociology.
WARC : World Advertising Research Center
Premier resource on advertising, marketing, brands and campaigns. Includes case studies, consumer insight, industry trends, news, data and forecasts, media trends, economic and demographic data, profiles of major brand owners and much more.
Sage Research Methods Collection
Helps researchers and students with their research projects. Includes more than 800 ebooks with supporting dictionary articles, journal entries, videos and cases. Also provides access to more than 150 teaching datasets taken from real research projects, to support quantitative and qualitative analytical methods.
There is an excellent help page here http://sagepub.libguides.com/research-methods/researchmethods
Suggest a Book for the Library