LibGuides: Law: International Law

Search the Library Catalogue

Comparative Law Guides

Resources on this Web page may be useful if you are doing a comparative law study, but also see the resources on the Comparative Law page.

Finding USA Legal Information

Congress.gov
The official source for US federal legislative information.
LII Supreme Court
Decisions of the US Supreme Court.
Free the Law - Ravel & Harvard Law School
Harvard Law School with Ravel Law (a legal research and analytics platform)is digitizing its entire collection of U.S. case law. California cases are already available with cases from other States being added through to 2017.
Justia
Free access to federal and state law materials including US Supreme Court cases 1759 onwards, federal appellate cases 1950 onwards and district court opinions 2004 onwards. It also includes links to the US Code and Constitution, the Code of Federal Regulations and to state constitutions, codes, legislation and web resources

University Law Library Guides to International Sources

New York University
Berkeley University
Globalex (NYU School of Law)
Research guides for most jurisdictions from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
GlobaLex - International Human Rights Houser Global Law School Program at NYU
Human Rights
University of Minnesota Human Rights Library
Uppsala University

A selection of key documents

Universal Declaration of Human Rights
Note - click 'Introduction' at the left of the screen to get fuller details for your OSCOLA reference.

International Legislation

Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles on every aspect of public international law. An essential reference work for anyone researching international law.

HeinOnline
Legal journal articles with very wide international coverage e.g. can search by country and topic.

Kluwer Arbitration This link opens in a new window
Resources for international commercial arbitration.including conventions, legislation, rules, bilateral investment treaties, awards and case law, journal articles and commentary. Includes the Yearbook: Commercial Arbitration.
If KA does not open in Internet Explorer, please try an alternative Internet Browser.
Westlaw International Materials This link opens in a new window
International legal material via WestlawNext. For European coverage, see Westlaw UK.
Westlaw US Materials This link opens in a new window
US legislation, regulations and cases including Federal and State material.
Lexis+ UK This link opens in a new window

Similar to Westlaw, Lexis+ is strongest for UK jurisdictions but gives legal material for some other countries.

Recommended Websites for Foreign & International Law

WORLDLII This link opens in a new window
WorldLII is a free, independent and non-profit global legal research facility covering from 123 jurisdictions. It is provided collaboratively by 14 Legal Information Institutes and other organisations including the British and Irish Legal Information Institute (BAILII).

EISL - Electronic Information System for International Law
An open database of authenticated primary and other materials across the breadth of international law, arranged by topic. Created by the American Association of International Law (ASIL).
Congress.gov
Congress.gov is the official source for US federal legislative information.
FLAG - Foreign Law Guide
Provides details about where to find foreign, international and comparative law in the UK's academic, national and specialist law libraries. Compiled by the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies, University of London.
Jurisprudence (United Nations Human Rights)
Access to jurisprudence emanating from the United Nations Treaty Bodies which receive and consider complaints from individuals.
more...less...
Access to jurisprudence emanating from the United Nations Treaty Bodies which receive and consider complaints from individuals: the Human Rights Committee (CCPR), the Committee against Torture (CAT), the Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW), the Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination (CERD), the Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD), the Committee on Enforced Disappearances (CED), the Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (CESCR), and the Committee on the Rights of the Child (CRC).
University of Minnesota Human Rights Library
More than sixty thousand core human rights documents, including several hundred human rights treaties and other primary international human rights instruments
United Nations Documentation Research Guide
United Nations Digital Library
Peace Palace Library
A large quantity of references in the international library in the Hague is searchable through the Peace Palace Library’s online catalogue. This includes books and journal articles. Access to the full text may not be available, so you will need to check availability at Stirling.
Globalex (NYU School of Law)
Guides to finding foreign legislation in most jurisdictions from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
Lexadin - The World Law Guide
More than 70.000 Links to Legal sites in over 180 countries.

Related Resources

United Nations Proceedings
Including General Assembly (GA), Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) and Security Council (SC). A subject index to all the documents issued by the body in question during a particular session/year and an index to speeches delivered before the forum in question during a particular session/year.

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian
Ask us for help to use any of the resources or request a meeting with your Librarian.

International Courts

International Court of Justice

Treaties and Instruments

United Nations Treaty Series
United Nations General Assembly Resolutions - Declarations and Conventions
Arranged by topic
United Nations General Assembly Resolutions and Decisions
Arranged by session / resolution number
UN Documents - Gathering a Body of Global Agreements
Click the relevant subject tab e.g. human rights, education, keywords or search.
United Nations Human Rights - Universal Human Rights Instruments
United Nations Human Rights - International Instruments Relating to the Promotion of Truth, Justice, Reparation and Guarentees of Non-recurrence
Organization of American States Department of International Law (DIL) Multilateral Treaties & Bilateral Agreements

Treaties

International Intellectual Property

WIPO - World Intellectual Property Organisation
This self-funding agency of the United Nations provides a global forum for intellectual property services, policy, information and cooperation. Includes access to international IP information

Energy

International Atomic Energy Agency Treaties
Includes treaties under IAEA auspices, areements to which the IAEA is a party, plus agreements relevant to the IAEA's work.