Useful explanations from a number of organisations and university libraries.
HeinOnline is a full text searchable archive of law journals. The journals are predominately American, but other jurisdictions are included.
Journal articles appear in exactly the same format as the printed originals, including charts, photographs, etc.
The English Reports Full Reprint, Selden Society Publications and the History of Early English Law are also available through HeinOnline.
Search 'The Proceedings of the Old Bailey, 1674-1913' - the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published. Contains 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court. See related site: 'digital panopticon: Tracing London Convicts in Britain & Australia, 1780-1925' to search records of convicts from the Old Bailey.
Main Sources
An excellent free source of British and Irish case law and European cases. BAILII also provides legislation, Law Commission reports and other materials: see our main wiki entry for BAILII.
Free source of the English Reports (1220-1873). See also: Old cases
Continent/Country Specific Sources
Free access to various legal materials and resources to countries in Africa. Also maintains a list of African Law communities and membership details.
Free access to legislation, cases, and other legal materials in Kenya.
Free access to 330 databases from 28 Asian jurisdictions via 8 Legal Information Institutes.
HKLII (Hong Kong Legal Information Institute)
Free sources of legal materials in Hong Kong.
Free source of Australiasian legal materials, as well as projects.
Free sources of legislation, decisions, and commentary in Canada, available to access in English or in French.
Another site for free sources of legislation, decisions, court information, and commentary in Canada, available to access in English or in French.
Free sources of legal materials in Cyprus, currently available in Greek only.
A French government entity responsible for publishing legal texts online. It provides access, in French, to laws and decrees, court rulings, collective labour agreements, standards issued by European institutions, and international treaties and agreements to which France is a party. Available to access six languages, including English.
Free sources of legal materials in Ireland.
Access to the databases which the ITTIG publishes, including some useful guides in Italian.
Free access to legal information in New Zealand, including access to selected journals and Maori law.
Access to legal materials from 20 Pacific Islands Countries, including primary and secondary legal materials. These countries are American Samoa, Cook Islands, Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Guam, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Niue, New Caledonia, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Pitcairn Islands, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.
A legal website project to digitize and make available all Philippine laws, statutes, jurisprudence, presidential decrees, executive orders, administrative orders, lawyers' tools and other legal materials.
SAFLII publishes legal information for free public access which comprises mainly of case law from South Africa. It also hosts legal materials from other countries in the region and more recently through linking to other Legal Information Institutes established in these regions.
WorldLII section of U.K Territories and Dependencies - access to legal resources, websites, and other materials.
Access to various legal collections and materials about legislation, cases, and courts in the U.S.
(This list is derived from BIALL - British & Irish Association of Law Librarians)
