Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Library Catalogue
It is important to critically analyse information before you use it in an essay, report or assignment. These websites suggest how to evaluate the quality of different types of information. For further assistance with this, please ask in the Library.
Information and research skills
Welcome to the Subject Research Guide for Journalism Studies.
If you have a suggestion for a resource to add - let us know
Recommended Resources from the A-Z
Use these databases to locate journal articles and multimedia resources for journalism studies. For guidance about search see our Information and Research Skills guide
Provides full text access to articles related to communication, linguistics, film & media
Business Source Complete
A business, management and economics database with full text for more than 2,300 journals with more than 1,100 from academic titles. This database provides some full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Provides full text access to articles realted to all aspects of sociology and the social sciences
Web of Science Core Collection
Provides access to the Citation Indexes for: Science; Social Sciences; Arts & Humanities; Conference Proceedings and Books. Use for finding journal articles and conference papers. Databases can be searched simultaneously or select specific databases using the More Settings option.
Humanities Index - previously British Humanities Index
Covers 1962 to date. Abstracts from over 400 sources in the areas of literature, the arts, cinema, economics, history, current affairs, popular science, religion, music and architecture.
SocArXiv - Open archive of the social sciences
SocArXiv is a free open access archive for the social sciences. It holds working papers, preprints and published papers - some documents have links to data and code. (A pre-print is: "a manuscript draft that has not yet been subject to formal peer review, distributed to receive early feedback on research from peers").
OOIR (Observatory of International Research)
Tracks “social science” journals to continually list their latest papers. Covers Anthropology, Area Studies, Communication, Geography, History, Law, Political Science and Sociology.
Full text of selected American magazines and journals from 1740 to 1900.
Previously known as MediaHub, this new service incorporates all of MediaHub's audio visual content.
British Pathé Collection
Access to over 85,000 historic films covering the period 1896 - 1976. Playlists include sport, inventions, days that shook the world, war footage and fashion.
Readership statistics for newspapers and magazines in the UK
ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers
Index of bibliographic data about international newspapers and links to digitisation projects.
The "Essential site for Journalists" this website provides a wealth of information for UK journalists. The site provides a range of RSS feeds for keeping up to date with developments in the journalism sector
Useful source of journalism news and jobs for journalists
Image of the Journalist in Popular Culture
Database of references to journalists and PR practitioners in TV programmes, fiction, films and more.
Channel 4 Documentaries
Channel 4 website on the history of documentary films.
Channel 4 Press Packs
Digitised versions of 'press packs' - information supplied to the press about forthcoming broadcasts on Channel 4. Covers the period 1982 - 2002.
Find out what people search for on Google. Provides charts showing breakdown by city, region and language. Useful for tracing the impact of a news story.
Suggest a Book for the Library