Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Step 1: Search the Library catalogue for books
Search the library catalogue to find books on your topic.
- Choosing keywords. Try searching on alternative keywords if you don't get the results you expect.
- Phrase searching. Try putting common phrases in quotation marks, e.g. "industrial revolution".
- Truncation/wildcard. Put an asterisk at the end of the stem of the word to search for any letters which come after it, e.g. film* will find film, films, filming, etc.
- Refining to ebooks. Use the ebook filter.
Sage Research Methods
Supporting research at all levels Sage Research Methods brings you books, chapters, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos. See Case Studies of real research projects and practice on Datasets (these can also be used for teaching).
The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best techniques.
More tips, videos and guidance available a the Sage Research Methods help pages.
It is important to critically analyse information before you use it in an essay, report or assignment. These websites suggest how to evaluate the quality of different types of information. For further assistance with this, please ask in the Library.
Welcome to the Subject Research Guide for Housing
If you have a suggestion for a resource to add - let us know
Recommended Resources from the A-Z
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to articles realted to all aspects of sociology and the social sciences
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the Citation Indexes for: Science; Social Sciences; Arts & Humanities; Conference Proceedings and Books. Use for finding journal articles and conference papers. Databases can be searched simultaneously or select specific databases using the More Settings option.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
The largest international abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources. Searches 45.5 million records from 5,000 different publishers covering many different subjects.
SCRAN : Scottish Cultural Resources Access Network This link opens in a new window
Searchable online database of 1 million text and multimedia records from museums, galleries and archives. Use it to find images, sounds and movies relating to culture, history and science.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to articles and conferences paper related to all aspects of political science.
Public Affairs Index This link opens in a new window
An index to articles related to global public policy ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, international conflict and natural disasters
Literature Search Planning Template