Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Library Catalogue
It is important to critically analyse information before you use it in an essay, report or assignment. These websites suggest how to evaluate the quality of different types of information. For further assistance with this, please ask in the Library.
Information and research skills
Welcome to the Subject Research Guide for History.
If you have a suggestion for a resource to add - let us know
Recommended Resources for finding secondary sources
Use these databases to locate journal articles for history. For guidance about searching, see our Information and Research Skills guide.
World history (excluding United States and Canada) from 1450 onwards; includes other subject areas presented from a historical perspective.
Bibliography of British and Irish History Online
An index to journal articles, books and book chapters about British, Irish and Commonwealth history covering the period from 55 BC to the present.
Web of Science Core Collection
Provides access to the Citation Indexes for: Science; Social Sciences; Arts & Humanities; Conference Proceedings and Books. Use for finding journal articles and conference papers. Databases can be searched simultaneously or select specific databases using the More Settings option.
Searchable digital archive collection of core scholarly journals, many starting with the first issue (some of which date from the 1800s). Stirling University has full-text access to the Collections: Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences II, Arts & Sciences III, Biological Sciences Archive and Ireland Collection. We also have access to the 19th Century British Pamphlets collection.
PAO : Periodicals Archive Online
Full text backfiles of international academic journals in the humanities and social sciences. Files run from the late 18th century to the late 20th century.
Project Muse provides full text access to a wide range of journals. We subscribe to the Humanities Collection only.
Humanities Index - previously British Humanities Index
Covers 1962 to date. Abstracts from over 400 sources in the areas of literature, the arts, cinema, economics, history, current affairs, popular science, religion, music and architecture.
European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750
A bibliography of works printed in Europe which relate to the Americas before 1750.
International Medieval Bibliography Online
Index to articles on medieval topics (300 - 1500 AD). Click on Enter databases, then select International Medieval Bibliography Online.
Full text of selected American magazines and journals from 1740 to 1900.
SocArXiv - Open archive of the social sciences
SocArXiv is a free open access archive for the social sciences. It holds working papers, preprints and published papers - some documents have links to data and code. (A pre-print is: "a manuscript draft that has not yet been subject to formal peer review, distributed to receive early feedback on research from peers").
British Library Shared Research Repository for cultural and heritage organisations
Research repository of research produced by staff of the British Library and their partner organisations including: the British Museum, MOLA (Museum of London Archaeology), National Museums Scotland, Royal Botanic Gardens Kew, and Tate
OOIR (Observatory of International Research)
Tracks “social science” journals to continually list their latest papers. Covers Anthropology, Area Studies, Communication, Geography, History, Law, Political Science and Sociology.
Online Primary Sources
Old Maps Online
Cross search online historical maps. Includes maps from the National Library of Scotland and the British Library.
Migration to New Worlds
Primary source material recounting various personal experiences of migration over the last 350 years, e.g. Colonial Office files on emigration, diaries and travel journals, ship logs and plans, printed literature, objects, watercolours, and oral histories.
Access to over 50 million digital resources from Europe's museums, archives, art galleries, libraries and audiovisual collections. Sources include the Louvre, the Rijksmuseum and the British Library.
CESSDA (Consortium of European Social Science Data Archives)
An umbrella organisation for social science data archives across Europe. The CESSDA Catalogue provides access to research data from archives across Europe covering around 6000 studies distributed by members of the CESSDA European Research Infrastructure Consortium (ERIC). The Catalogue enables users to locate datasets, as well as questions or variables within datasets. Data collections include sociological surveys, election studies, longitudinal studies, opinion polls, and census data from the European Social Survey, Eurobarometer and the International Social Survey Programme.
German History in Documents
Collection of primary source materials documenting Germany's political, social and cultural history from 1500 to the present.
French Revolution Digital Archive
A collection of digital resources of value for anyone researching the French Revolution. A collaboration between Stanford University Libraries and the Bibliothèque Nationale de France.
Digitial Collections from the National Library of Scotland
Digital materials from the National Library of Scotland, includes maps, Post Office Directories, stories from the First World War, Gaelic Book collections, Robert Louis Stevenson collection, resources about the Jacobites and much more.
Scottish History Society publications
Useful resource for Scottish historians. Covers the 12th to 20th centuries. Includes a variety of resources including diaries, letters and illustrations.
Archive of The Scotsman newspaper
SCRAN : Scottish Cultural Resources Access Network
Searchable online database of 1 million text and multimedia records from museums, galleries and archives. Use it to find images, sounds and movies relating to culture, history and science.
National Galleries of Scotland Online Collection
Explore the collections from Scotland's National Gallery, the Portrait Gallery, the Gallery of Modern Art and the Photograhpy Collection in Edinburgh. The online collection contains information about almost 2500 works of art with more being added to the site regularly.
Statistical Accounts of Scotland
Web version of the old (first) and new (second) Statistical Accounts of Scotland, first published in 1791-99 and 1845 respectively. Covers a wide range of topics: wealth, class and poverty; climate, agriculture, fishing and wildlife; population, schools and the moral health of the people. Keyword and phrase searching of the whole text is possible.
Records of the Parliaments of Scotland
Searchable database containing the proceedings of the Scottish parliament from the first surviving act of 1235 to the union of 1707.
British Library Sounds
British Library Sounds presents 50,000 recordings and their associated documentation from the Library’s extensive collections of unique sound recordings which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.
British Pathé Collection
Access to over 85,000 historic films covering the period 1896 - 1976. Playlists include sport, inventions, days that shook the world, war footage and fashion.
National Portrait Gallery
Explore details of over 120,000 portraits from the sixteenth century to the present day.
British Cartoon Archive
The British Cartoon Archive at the University of Kent contains more than 130,000 cartoons from 1904 onwards. Contains cartoons from the magazine Punch from the 1920s to 1990s. Search the catalogue to look for materials available online.
British Library Newspapers 1600-1950
Digital archive of historic newspapers. British Library Newspapers 1600-1950 contains over 3 million pages of historic newspapers and newsbooks. This resource cross searches Nineteenth Century Newspapers, the Burney Collection and British Library Newspapers Parts 3, 4 and 5 (1732-1950).
Gale Primary Sources
Searches 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, 19th Century UK Periodicals, British Library Newspapers, Financial Times Historical Archive, Sunday Times Digital Archive, Times Digital Archive, Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
Times Digital Archive
Searchable full text of The Times newspaper from 1785 to 2014. See also The Sunday Times archive
Sunday Times Archive
Archive of The Sunday Times from 1822 - 2006. See also The Times Digital Archive.
Financial Times Historical Archive 1888-2010
The Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010, is the complete searchable facsimile run of the world's most authoritative daily business newspaper. Every article and advertisement ever printed in the paper can be searched and browsed individually and page by page. This is an essential, comprehensive and unbiased research tool for everyone studying public affairs, and economic and financial history of the last 120 years.
Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers
Full text of selected influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of 19th century British society. This resource can also be searched as part of the British Newspapers Collection.
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection
Access to over 1 million newspaper pages, Acts of Parliament and pamphlets from the 17th and 18th centuries. The Burney Collection can also be searched as part of British Newspapers.
British Periodicals Online
British Periodicals Online provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth century.
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals
Access to the full text of over 180 periodicals from the nineteenth century.
A collection of British Historical Population Reports. Access to population reports for Britain and Ireland from 1801 to 1937.
Offers a range of historical Ordnance Survey mapping data products from 1843 to 1996. A range of online tools are available to facilitate viewing, interrogation and download of these products.
Early printed publications
Historical Texts (previously Historic Books)
Historic Books searches over 360,000 books. Use this to access to Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) and Early English Books Online (EEBO). Historic Books also provides access to nineteenth century books from the British Library.
John Johnson Collection
This collection provides access to over 67,000 items selected from the John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera, which will be of interest for anyone studying British social history. The collection offers unique insights into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Categories include nineteenth century entertainment, the booktrade, popular prints, crimes, murders and executions, and advertising.
MEMSO (Medieval and Early Modern Sources Online)
Primary sources for the study of the Medieval and Early Modern world, with particular strengths in British and colonial history
The 19th Century British Pamphlets Collection is a good primary source. You can do an advanced search and limit your search to pamphlets only.
Collection of materials from the British Library relating to Georgian Britain
Collection of materials from the British Library relating to Victorian Britain.
Specific people and topics
Queen Victoria's Journals
Digitised versions of Queen Victoria's journals. 141 volumes are included covering the period 1832 to 1901.
African Online Digital Library
Gateway to a range of multimedia resources of interest to those studying or researching Africa.
Gateway to information about Africa, including links to repositories, researchers and organisations.
Information about, and access to, digitised historic American newspapers.
Search the world's historical newspaper archives. Covers Australia, Mexico, New Zealand and Singapore, but the coverage of the United States is the most useful.
Digital Public Library of America's Primary Source Sets
Includes posters, video clips, letters, music and more.
The American Presidency Project
Searchable database of Presidential papers going back to 1789
New York Public Library Digital Collections
Posters, images, maps and music more from New York Public Library's collections.
NPR History Department
Audio visual radio resources about American history topics. From the National Public Radio organisation.
IDA Treaties Explorer
Indigenous Digital Archive which includes digitised versions of the Ratified Indian Treaties.
Suggest a Book for the Library