Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Library Catalogue
It is important to critically analyse information before you use it in an essay, report or assignment. These websites suggest how to evaluate the quality of different types of information. For further assistance with this, please ask in the Library.
Information and research skills
Welcome to the Subject Research Guide for Heritage.
You may also be interested in the Subject Research Guides for History or Environmental History.
If you have a suggestion for a resource to add - let us know
Recommended resources for finding secondary sources
Use these databases to find journal articles and books. For guidance about searching see our Information and Research Skills guide.
World history (excluding United States and Canada) from 1450 onwards; includes other subject areas presented from a historical perspective.
Humanities Index - previously British Humanities Index
Covers 1962 to date. Abstracts from over 400 sources in the areas of literature, the arts, cinema, economics, history, current affairs, popular science, religion, music and architecture.
Web of Science Core Collection
Provides access to the Citation Indexes for: Science; Social Sciences; Arts & Humanities; Conference Proceedings and Books. Use for finding journal articles and conference papers. Databases can be searched simultaneously or select specific databases using the More Settings option.
Project Muse provides full text access to a wide range of journals. We subscribe to the Humanities Collection only.
Bibliography of British and Irish History Online
An index to journal articles, books and book chapters about British, Irish and Commonwealth history covering the period from 55 BC to the present.
Natural Science Collection (from Proquest)
Index primarily for finding journal articles. Covers: agriculture, aquatic science, atmospheric science, biological science, geology, earth science, and environmental science. Includes some full-text.
SocArXiv - Open archive of the social sciences
SocArXiv is a free open access archive for the social sciences. It holds working papers, preprints and published papers - some documents have links to data and code. (A pre-print is: "a manuscript draft that has not yet been subject to formal peer review, distributed to receive early feedback on research from peers").
British Library Shared Research Repository for cultural and heritage organisations
Research repository of research produced by staff of the British Library and their partner organisations including: the British Museum, MOLA (Museum of London Archaeology), National Museums Scotland, Royal Botanic Gardens Kew, and Tate
Searchable digital archive collection of core scholarly journals, many starting with the first issue (some of which date from the 1800s). Stirling University has full-text access to the Collections: Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences II, Arts & Sciences III, Biological Sciences Archive and Ireland Collection. We also have access to the 19th Century British Pamphlets collection.
PAO : Periodicals Archive Online
Full text backfiles of international academic journals in the humanities and social sciences. Files run from the late 18th century to the late 20th century.
Times Digital Archive
Searchable full text of The Times newspaper from 1785 to 2014. See also The Sunday Times archive
Sunday Times Archive
Archive of The Sunday Times from 1822 - 2006. See also The Times Digital Archive.
Archive of The Scotsman newspaper
Recommended websites for Heritage
SCRAN : Scottish Cultural Resources Access Network
Searchable online database of 1 million text and multimedia records from museums, galleries and archives. Use it to find images, sounds and movies relating to culture, history and science.
Digimap: Historic Collection
Offers a range of historical Ordnance Survey mapping data products from 1843 to 1996. A range of online tools are available to facilitate viewing, interrogation and download of these products.
Suggest a Book for the Library