It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The databases listed below contain research in English Literature (journal articles and book articles). Choose a database appropriate for your specific topic. The MLA International Bibliography is a good general database in this subject.
Choosing keywords. Try searching on alternative keywords if you don't get the results you expect.
Combining search terms. Combine concepts with AND. Combine alternative keywords with OR, e.g. (film OR cinema) AND (horror or suspense)
Phrase searching. Try putting common phrases in quotation marks, e.g. "industrial revolution"
Truncation/wildcard. Put an asterisk at the end of the stem of the word to search for any letters which come after it, e.g. film* will find film, films, filming, etc.
Refining search. Refine your search using the filters available, e.g. date, language
Evaluating results. Read the abstract and subject headings to decide whether the article is relevant to your research.
Finding full text. If you don't see a PDF link, look for the Find@Stir button - this may take you to the full text. You can also download the LibkeyNomad browser plug-in, which will provide access to articles. If we don't have the article, see Step 3 below (If the library doesn't have the book/article).
Searchable digital archive collection of core scholarly journals, many starting with the first issue (some of which date from the 1800s). Stirling University has full-text access to the Collections: Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences II, Arts & Sciences III, Biological Sciences Archive and Ireland Collection. We also have access to the 19th Century British Pamphlets collection.
Provides access to the Citation Indexes for: Science; Social Sciences; Arts & Humanities; Conference Proceedings and Books. Use for finding journal articles and conference papers. Databases can be searched simultaneously or select specific databases using the More Settings option.
Historic Books searches over 360,000 books. Use this to access to Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) and Early English Books Online (EEBO). Historic Books also provides access to nineteenth century books from the British Library.
A database containing information about who read what and how in the UK between 150 and 1945. Use this to study the reading habits of Britons for five centuries. Reading Experience Databases for other countries are available from this site too.
Directory of historical book owners, with information about their libraries and signposts to further reference sources. It currently covers seventeenth-century English owners with the potential to be expanded.
This collection presents manuscripts of some of the most important works of European travel writing from the later medieval period. The chief focus is on journeys to central Asia and the Far East, including accounts of travel to Mongolia, Persia, India, China and South-East Asia. It is an indispensable source for scholars of medieval travel, geography, exploration, trade, literature and medieval postcolonial studies.
The travel texts gathered here cover some of the most widely read and influential prose works of the late Middle Ages – notably the books of Marco Polo and ‘Sir John Mandeville’ – but also important items by authors whose names are now less well known to non-specialists, such as John of Plano Carpini and Odoric of Pordenone.
Shakespeare in Performance showcases rare and unique prompt books from the world-famous Folger Shakespeare Library. These prompt books tell the story of Shakespeare’s plays as they were performed in theatres throughout Great Britain, the United States and internationally, between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries.
This collection of documents offers insights into the performance practice in the particular space of the reconstructed Globe Theatre. It details the way in which the theatre was constructed as a place of radical experiment. It documents over 200 performances through prompt books, wardrobe notes, programmes, publicity material, annual reports, show reports, photographs and architectural plans.
Discover manuscripts written or compiled by women in the British Isles during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries. Produced in association with the Perdita Project based at the University of Warwick and Nottingham Trent University, the project seeks to rediscover early modern women authors who were “lost” because their writing exists only in manuscript form.
Bringing together rare journals printed between c.1685 and 1835, this resource illuminates all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics covered are wide-ranging and include colonial life, provincial and rural affairs, the French and American revolutions, reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe, political debates, and London coffee house gossip and discussion.
Discover the working methods of Romantic poets and trace the evolution of celebrated verse in this digital resource. Presenting the manuscript collections of the Wordsworth Trust, this digital collection offers students and researchers of the Romantic period unique access to the working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers, including Dorothy Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey and Robert Southey.
Browse the collection of fine art pieces which include works by such eminent artists as J.M.W. Turner, John Constable and Benjamin Robert Haydon. This evocative collection vividly brings to life the landscape that inspired literary creativity and poetic genius.
All of the documents are digitised in colour and include: verse manuscripts, printed manuscripts, prose manuscripts, printed verse, correspondence, diaries, travel journals, autograph albums, guide books, fine art and maps.
Discover the work of one of the world’s most important publishing dynasties through this collection from the historic John Murray Archive. From book history to travel writing, politics to poetry, this resource introduces an unparalleled repository for nineteenth century culture and the literary luminaries who shaped it.
Wide-ranging site on literature, history and culture in the age of Queen Victoria. Includes political and social history, gender matters, philosophy and religion, as well as resources on Victorian authors.
Compiled by Professor Janet Millgate, the Union Catalogue provides records for the nearly 14,000 letters written by or to Scott that have proved traceable worldwide. The catalogue is hosted by the National Library of Scotland.
Online resource created in the Special Collections Division at Edinburgh University Library. Designed around the Corson Collection of Walter Scott material held at Edinburgh University, it includes resources relating to Scott's life and works.