Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Step 1: Search the Library catalogue for books
Search the library catalogue to find books on your topic.
- Choosing keywords. Try searching on alternative keywords if you don't get the results you expect.
- Phrase searching. Try putting common phrases in quotation marks, e.g. "industrial revolution".
- Truncation/wildcard. Put an asterisk at the end of the stem of the word to search for any letters which come after it, e.g. film* will find film, films, filming, etc.
- Refining to ebooks. Use the ebook filter.
It is important to critically analyse information before you use it in an essay, report or assignment. These websites suggest how to evaluate the quality of different types of information. For further assistance with this, please ask in the Library.
Recommended Journal Resources
Use these databases to find journal articles.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus contains citations and abstracts for over 1.5 million items about sport, fitness and related disciplines. These include journal articles, abstracts of books, theses and conference papers.
Coaching Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Useful for finding information about journal articles on sports coaching.
This database is not full text but gives information about articles from good quality journals. Although the search looks old-fashioned it is still being updated (April 2009).
Medline - via EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Medline covers medicine and nursing. It is created by the National Library of Medicine and uses MESH subject headings to locate resources.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the Citation Indexes for: Science; Social Sciences; Arts & Humanities; Conference Proceedings and Books. Use for finding journal articles and conference papers. Databases can be searched simultaneously or select specific databases using the More Settings option.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
The largest international abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources. Searches 45.5 million records from 5,000 different publishers covering many different subjects.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Index to over 1.5 million journal articles, book chapters and dissertations all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Journal coverage starts in 1887.
Market Reports & Statista
Academic Liaison Librarian
Literature search planning template