Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sage Research Methods
Supporting research at all levels Sage Research Methods brings you books, chapters, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos. See Case Studies of real research projects and practice on Datasets (these can also be used for teaching).
The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best techniques.
More tips, videos and guidance available a the Sage Research Methods help pages.
Welcome to the Subject Research Guide for Sociology & Social Policy
If you have a suggestion for a resource to add - let us know
Recommended Resources from the A-Z
Use these databases to find journal articles. For guidance about searching see our successful search techniques website.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to articles realted to all aspects of sociology and the social sciences
Scopus This link opens in a new window
The largest international abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources. Searches 45.5 million records from 5,000 different publishers covering many different subjects.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the Citation Indexes for: Science; Social Sciences; Arts & Humanities; Conference Proceedings and Books. Use for finding journal articles and conference papers. Databases can be searched simultaneously or select specific databases using the More Settings option.
Social Care Online This link opens in a new window
Produced by Social Care Institute for Excellence, Social Care Online provides access to resources for all aspects of social care. Includes policy documents, government publications and practice orientated books and articles. From 1st April 2013 it will be necessary to register and sign in to download material from Social Care Online. Registration is free.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Index to over 1.5 million journal articles, book chapters and dissertations all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Journal coverage starts in 1887.
Social Services Knowledge Scotland This link opens in a new window
A gateway to information and resources about social care in Scotland. Some information is freely available, other information is only available to holders of NHS Scotland Athens accounts. Includes information and resources previously accessible from ReSearchWeb which was discontinued at the end of March 2010
Public Affairs Index This link opens in a new window
An index to articles related to global public policy ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, international conflict and natural disasters
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to articles and conferences paper related to all aspects of political science.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with full text This link opens in a new window
Provide full text of articles related to criminology, criminal justice, criminal law, policing, prisons, substance abuse and addiction, probation and parole.
Sage Research Methods Collection This link opens in a new window
Helps researchers and students with their research projects. Includes more than 800 ebooks with supporting dictionary articles, journal entries, videos and cases. Also provides access to more than 150 teaching datasets taken from real research projects, to support quantitative and qualitative analytical methods.
There is an excellent help page here http://sagepub.libguides.com/research-methods/researchmethods
AM Explorer This link opens in a new window
Primary source collections across the entire portfolio of Adam Matthew Digital, spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries.
Mass Observation Project, 1981-2009 This link opens in a new window
Papers for the original Mass Observation Project, 1981 -2009. Consists of the questionnaires sent to observers and the responses from hundreds of Mass Observers.
Academic Liaison Librarian
Literature Search Planning Template
It is important to critically analyse information before you use it in an essay, report or assignment. These websites suggest how to evaluate the quality of different types of information. For further assistance with this, please ask in the Library.