Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Browse the collections, find books and access electronic resources.
Suggest a Book for the Library
Sage Research Methods
Supporting research at all levels Sage Research Methods brings you books, chapters, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos. See Case Studies of real research projects and practice on Datasets (these can also be used for teaching).
The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best techniques.
More tips, videos and guidance available a the Sage Research Methods help pages.
It is important to critically analyse information before you use it in an essay, report or assignment. These websites suggest how to evaluate the quality of different types of information. For further assistance with this, please ask in the Library.
Welcome to the Subject Research Guide for Psychology
If you have a suggestion for a resource to add - let us know
Recommended Resources from the A-Z
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Index to over 1.5 million journal articles, book chapters and dissertations all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Journal coverage starts in 1887.
Web of Science - All Databases This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a service offering access to several databases covering sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. Includes Web of Science Core Collection (for access to the Citation Indexes), BIOSIS Previews, Zoological Record, etc.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
The largest international abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources. Searches 45.5 million records from 5,000 different publishers covering many different subjects.
Medline - via EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Medline covers medicine and nursing. It is created by the National Library of Medicine and uses MESH subject headings to locate resources.
Medline - via OVID This link opens in a new window
An index to the health, medical, biomedical and nursing literature. OVID Medline contains references from over 4000 journals. It covers the period 1946 to present and is updated weekly.
CINAHL complete This link opens in a new window
Full text access to articles on nursing and allied fields, health education, emergency services, occupational therapy, etc.
Covers material from 1982.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The major resource for information on evidenced based medicine. The Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of articles from the 58 journals published by the American Psychological Association.
CogNet This link opens in a new window
CogNet is a collection of searchable electronic texts for the cognitive and brain sciences. It includes reference works and journals from MIT press. Abstracts of important annual conference proceedings in the field are also indexed. Please note it is not possible to print from CogNet books.
CogPrints This link opens in a new window
CogPrints is an electronic archive for papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience, and Linguistics, as well as many areas of Computer Science, Philosophy, Biology, Medicine, Anthropology, and other areas that are pertinent to the study of cognition.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Online access to academic research texts published by the Oxford University Press.
Child Development and Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window
Search here to retrieve references about child development.
BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Index for finding journal articles, and other types of publications, on biological and biomedical topics.
Subjects range from traditional areas of biology such as botany, zoology and microbiology to related fields such as agriculture, pharmacology, biochemistry, ecology, bioengineering, and experimental clinical medicine.
If you are using Internet Explorer 9 web browser and experience problems with BIOSIS, click here for information: http://wok.mimas.ac.uk/news/2011/20110520.html
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search tool that focuses on academic/scholarly materials available on the web. An excellent supplementary tool to use along with the established databases listed on this page.
To connect Google Scholar results to the library's full-text articles:
1. In Google Scholar click the three horizontal bars in the corner to view the menu
2. Select ‘Settings’
3. Select ‘Library Links’ and search for: stirling
4. Tick the box next to ‘Stirling University Library - University of Stirling Links’
5. Click Save.
‘Stir Univ’ links will now appear next to articles in your search results. Click on the links to check if we have the full-text of the article in our collection. If we don’t have full-text use the options to request the article.
Then go back to Settings, this time choose ‘Account’ (under ‘Library links’), then tick the box that says ‘Signed-in off-campus access links’ – this will make accessing full-text articles from off-campus easier
Literature search planning template
Book a Library Study Space
To comply with guidelines on distancing please pre-book a time to use the Library.
Click and Collect
Check for the book you want on Library Catalogue and use 'click and collect'. Collect your books when you receive a confirmation email.
Request Article & Document Delivery
Request articles and books unavailable at Stirling University.
Postgraduate students and staff may join and borrow from many university libraries.
Borrowing Books etc.
Find out how to borrow, renew, reserve a book that is on loan, use Short Loan Collection etc.
Book a Group Study Space
Study Rooms are currently unavailable due to COVID-19 related restrictions.
Database searching video
This video is about how to search for journal articles in a database. It includes planning a search, a database search demo, and tips for getting the best results.