LibGuides: Mental Health Nursing: Home

Sage Research Methods

Supporting research at all levels Sage Research Methods brings you books, chapters, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos. See Case Studies of real research projects and practice on Datasets (these can also be used for teaching).

The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best techniques.

More tips, videos and guidance available a the Sage Research Methods help pages.

Social media

Welcome

Welcome to the Subject Research Guide for Mental Health Nursing

If you have a suggestion for a resource to add - let us know

Recommended Resources from the A-Z

CINAHL complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text access to articles on nursing and allied fields, health education, emergency services, occupational therapy, etc.
Covers material from 1982.
Health Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to 550 journals. Also abstracts and indexing for 850 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong.
Knowledge Network This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Knowledge Network is the new name for NHS Scotland e-Library. It provides access to a wide range of databases, electronic journals, clinical guidelines and websites in all aspects of healthcare. Some materials are freely available to the public. Students and staff in the Department of Nursing and Midwifery and those working in partnership with the NHS can apply for an Athens username and password to access the full range of resources on this site.
OVID Nursing This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of articles from the 58 journals published by the American Psychological Association.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to over 1.5 million journal articles, book chapters and dissertations all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Journal coverage starts in 1887.
Internurse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Internurse provides full text articles from 18 major nursing journals.
Medline - via OVID This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to the health, medical, biomedical and nursing literature. OVID Medline contains references from over 4000 journals. It covers the period 1946 to present and is updated weekly.
Medline - via EBSCO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Medline covers medicine and nursing. It is created by the National Library of Medicine and uses MESH subject headings to locate resources.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the Citation Indexes for: Science; Social Sciences; Arts & Humanities; Conference Proceedings and Books. Use for finding journal articles and conference papers. Databases can be searched simultaneously or select specific databases using the More Settings option.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to articles realted to all aspects of sociology and the social sciences

Recommended Websites

Piramhids
Access case studies of good practice in mental health care in Scotland. From Healthcare Improvement Scotland.
Scottish health Policies and Strategies
A useful index of Scottish Government health policy documents, with a particular emphasis on health improvement. Topics include health inequalities, cancer and mental health and well-being. Also included on this website are links to overarching health policies.
Mental Health Improvement from Health Scotland
Mental health information, publications and policy documents from NHS Health Scotland.
Mental Welfare Commission for Scotland
Organisation working for the rights and welfare of people with mental illness.
Mental Health Foundation, the UK charity for everyones mental health
UK wide charity which provides information for anyone affected by mental health.
MIND, National Association for Mental Health
Mental health charity for England and Wales. The Mind website provides factsheets and information about mental health.
Royal College of Nursing
Website of the Royal College of Nursing
PubPsych
A search engine which searches the psychological literature and is a useful source of information for mental health nursing.

A user guide is available here: http://www.pubpsych.eu/QR_Guide_PubPsych_en.pdf
European Health Information Gateway
Access to statistics and data about health, well being and health inequalities from across Europe. Produced by the World Health Organization.
Understanding Health Research
Useful website which helps you to critically review health research by answering a series of questions

Your Librarian - Stirling Campus

Clare Crowley

Email Me

Literature search planning template

Literature search planning template

Literature Searching Videos

Related Resources

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The major resource for information on evidenced based medicine. The Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.
TRIP : Turning Research into Practice This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A database of medical internet resources covering evidence based materials, including E-texts and medical images.
Autism Data This link opens in a new window
Autism Data is a research tool for anyone researching autism and Asperger syndrome. It lists over 17,000 published research papers, books, articles, videos and other materials. The contents include bibliographic records of all the items in The National Autistic Society Information Centre Library, together with the details of research articles on autism published in journals outwith the NAS library holdings.