Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sage Research Methods
Supporting research at all levels Sage Research Methods brings you books, chapters, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos. See Case Studies of real research projects and practice on Datasets (these can also be used for teaching).
The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best techniques.
More tips, videos and guidance available a the Sage Research Methods help pages.
Search the Library catalogue
Welcome to the Subject Research Guide for Mental Health Nursing
If you have a suggestion for a resource to add - let us know
Recommended Resources from the A-Z
Full text access to articles on nursing and allied fields, health education, emergency services, occupational therapy, etc.
Covers material from 1982.
Provides full text access to 550 journals. Also abstracts and indexing for 850 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong.
The Knowledge Network is the new name for NHS Scotland e-Library. It provides access to a wide range of databases, electronic journals, clinical guidelines and websites in all aspects of healthcare. Some materials are freely available to the public. Students and staff in the Department of Nursing and Midwifery and those working in partnership with the NHS can apply for an Athens username and password to access the full range of resources on this site.
Access to the full text of articles from the 58 journals published by the American Psychological Association.
Index to over 1.5 million journal articles, book chapters and dissertations all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Journal coverage starts in 1887.
Internurse provides full text articles from 18 major nursing journals.
Medline - via OVID
An index to the health, medical, biomedical and nursing literature. OVID Medline contains references from over 4000 journals. It covers the period 1946 to present and is updated weekly.
Medline - via EBSCO
Medline covers medicine and nursing. It is created by the National Library of Medicine and uses MESH subject headings to locate resources.
Web of Science Core Collection
Provides access to the Citation Indexes for: Science; Social Sciences; Arts & Humanities; Conference Proceedings and Books. Use for finding journal articles and conference papers. Databases can be searched simultaneously or select specific databases using the More Settings option.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Provides full text access to articles realted to all aspects of sociology and the social sciences
Your Librarian - Stirling Campus
Literature search planning template
Literature Searching Videos
The major resource for information on evidenced based medicine. The Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.
TRIP : Turning Research into Practice
A database of medical internet resources covering evidence based materials, including E-texts and medical images.
Autism Data is a research tool for anyone researching autism and Asperger syndrome. It lists over 17,000 published research papers, books, articles, videos and other materials. The contents include bibliographic records of all the items in The National Autistic Society Information Centre Library, together with the details of research articles on autism published in journals outwith the NAS library holdings.