Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommend a Covid 19 Resource
If you have recommendations for other resources to add the list, please let us know at: firstname.lastname@example.org
Resources for Research
A number of organisations have created great resources for supporting research into COVID-19
Economic, Business, Marketing
Marketing in the Covid-19 Crisis (WARC)
Responding to and rebounding from the COVID-19 crunch - free resources. (Also see the full WARC marketing/advertising campaign database at https://libguides.stir.ac.uk/management)
Moody's Coronavirus Effects
Moody’s free information resource on the business and economic impact of COVID-19.
Complimentary access to COVID-19 coverage in BioWorld's breaking news service.
CORE COVID-19 Collection [Economics]
Teaching and learning materials tailored for use during the COVID-19 crisis from the CORE Team. Accessible, relevant, real-world economics teaching,
available and free to everyone.
Tracking & Statistics
COVID-19 Global Cases (provided by Johns Hopkins University)
An interactive web-based dashboard to track COVID-19 in real time. The dashboard, first shared publicly on Jan 22, illustrates the location and number of confirmed COVID-19 cases, deaths, and recoveries for all affected countries. See more in related article: Dong, E., et al. (2020) An interactive web-based dashboard to track COVID-19 in real time. The Lancet Infectious Diseases. https://doi.org/10.1016/S1473-3099(20)30120-1
Global live statistics and coronavirus news tracking the number of confirmed cases, recovered patients and death toll by country, etc. due to COVID 19. More detailed statistics given for some countries, for example: UK, China, Italy – see: https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/#countries
Worldometer is run by an international team of developers, researchers, and volunteers with the goal of making world statistics available to a wide audience around the world. Worldometer is owned by Dadax, an independent company. They have no political, governmental or corporate affiliation.
UN Department of Economic and Social Affairs: Statistics - COVID-19 response (Provided by the United Nations in collaboration with the Global Partnership for Sustainable Development Data and Open Data Watch)
Website dedicated to showcasing the official statistics community’s response to the COVID 19 crisis. The site provides a space for the global statistical community to share guidance, actions, tools and best practices to ensure the operational continuity of data programmes by National Statistical Offices, and to address issues of open and timely access to critical data needed by governments and all sectors of society to respond to the global COVID-19 crisis.
UN COVID-19 Data Hub (Provided by United Nations UN Department of Economic and Social Affairs in collaboration with Esri (Environmental Systems Research Institute))
This site makes data relevant to COVID-19 response readily available as geospatial data web services, suitable for the production of maps and other data visualisations and analyses, and easy to download in multiple formats. The hub is produced alongside a partnership to support countries in joining a federated network of COVID 19 data hubs to share available data resources in an open and interoperable environment.
Epidemiological data from the COVID-19 outbreak, real-time case information
Live individual-level data from national, provincial, and municipal health reports, as well as additional information from online reports. All data are geo-coded and, where available, include symptoms, key dates (date of onset, admission, and confirmation), and travel history. For access details see the Open Access Nature article (March 2020) at: https://doi.org/10.1038/s41597-020-0448-0
Coronavirus tracked: the latest figures as the pandemic spreads (provided by the Financial Times)
Provides regularly updated statistics on the spread of the virus, including visualisations showing the overlapped number of COVID-19 cases in various countries based on the day when each country had the their 100th person infected and number of days since 10th death.
Statista - COVID-19 Facts & Figures
Numerous dossiers, on countries specific, economic impact for industries specific, Infographics and lots more data to come as this situation progresses.
COVID-19 - living evidence map (maintained by Evidence for Policy and Practice Information and Coordinating (EPPI-) Centre, University College London)
A living map of the evidence of studies on COVID-19 identified in MEDLINE and EMBASE, that groups the evidence into broad themes. Evidence for Policy and Practice Information and Co-ordinating Centre
Databases, Datasets & Search tools
European COVID-19 Data Platform (Provided by European Commission and partners)
The Platform provides an open, trusted and scalable European and global environment where researchers can store and share datasets, such as DNA sequences, protein structures, data from pre-clinical research and clinical trials, as well as epidemiological data. The Platform will consist of two connected components:
COVID-19 Data Portal, which will bring together and continuously update relevant COVID-19 datasets and tools, will host sequence data sharing and will facilitate access to other SARS-CoV-2 resources.
SARS-CoV-2 Data Hubs, which will organise the flow of SARS-CoV-2 outbreak sequence data and provide comprehensive open data sharing for the European and global research communities. Read more about the hubs at: https://www.covid19dataportal.org/data-hubs
The Platform is the result of a joint effort by the European Commission, the European Bioinformatics Institute of the European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL-EBI), the Elixir infrastructure and the COMPARE project, as well as the EU Member States and other partners.
COVID-evidence Database (provided by University of Basel and Meta-Research Innovation Center at Stanford plus others)
COVID-evidence is a free, continuously updated database of the worldwide available evidence on interventions for COVID-19. Concentrates on all available trial evidence on benefits and harms of interventions for SARS-CoV-2 infection. Collects up-to-date trial information as well as links to original sources such as study protocol documents, registry entries, and publications. In addition, aims to provide reliably extracted key trial information that would otherwise only be accessible by reading every manuscript in detail. The evidence covered: they consider reports, registry entries and manuscripts of trials with various designs. Eligible are trials testing any interventions actively allocated to humans to treat or prevent SARS-CoV-2-infections. Interventions include drug and non-drug treatments, diagnostic procedures, and decision-algorithms. They include randomised controlled trials (RCTs) and non-randomised trials with and without control groups with no restriction to geographical region or health care setting.
Corona Virus Research Database (ProQuest)
This cross-disciplinary resource enables researchers to search and discover COVID-19 full-text articles, dissertations and other content from key publishers in one place.
LitCovid (provided by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), USA)
LitCovid is an open curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus. It is the most comprehensive resource on the subject, providing central access to a growing number of research articles in PubMed. The articles are updated daily and are further categorised by different research topics and geographic locations for improved access.
COVID-19 Research Repository (Public Health Scotland)
The repository contains a comprehensive collection of Scottish COVID-19 research. This includes research about COVID-19 in Scotland as well as research on COVID-19 undertaken by Scottish researchers.
CoVis (COVID-19 Knowledge Map)
A curated and constantly evolving knowledge map of seminal works on COVID-19 from eight critical areas of biomedical research. CoVis is a collaborative project of Open Knowledge Maps and ReFigure and is financially supported by the EOSC (European Open Science Cloud) Secretariat.
Preprint Pilot in PubMed Central
From 8th June 2020 the NLM is piloting the addition of preprints resulting from NIH-funded research to PubMed Central (PMC). The pilot will run for a minimum of 12 months. The pilot will initially focus on increasing the discoverability of preprints with NIH support relating to the current COVID-19 pandemic. As curation and ingest workflows become scalable, NLM will expand the pilot to include preprints resulting from the broader spectrum of NIH research.
COVID-19 Law Lab
Gathers legal documents from over 190 countries to help states establish and implement strong legal frameworks to manage the pandemic. The goal is to ensure international human rights standards are adhered to. A joint project of United Nations Development Programme, the World Health Organisation, the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS and the O’Neill Institute for National and Global Health Law at Georgetown University.
Elsevier Coronavirus Research Hub
To support researchers working on Coronavirus solutions the Elsevier Coronavirus Research Hub provides free access to a range for life sciences, clinical research and data science until 28th October 2020. This includes full access to the EmBase and Clinical Key databases and tools for data mining.
You need to register to use the resources. Registration is quicker and easier if you have already created an Elsevier profile via Science Direct or Scopus which the Library already subscribes to (Portal > Resources tab > A-Z Online Resources > Science Direct or Scopus).
Cochrane Coronavirus resources and news
his page highlights content relating to the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic and the various related activities that Cochrane is undertaking in response.
Coronavirus Tech Handbook
A crowdsourced resource for technologists building things related to the coronavirus outbreak. This is an open Google doc on coronoavirus research, updated in real time, and shared under a CC-BY license.
Medical Device Repair database (provided by iFixit.com)
A collection of repair manuals and support documentation for devices used in a health care settings or procedures. A crowd-sourced site to help solve the problem of hospitals and medical researchers having trouble getting service information to fix medical equipment. The database has different categories covering: Clinical Equipment; Laboratory Equipment; Medical Furniture; Medical Imaging; Medical Support Equipment; Medical Test and Measurement; Medical Training Manuals; Physical Therapy; Surgical Equipment
COVID-19 Resource Page (provided by Microsoft Academic)
Microsoft Academic provide an overview of the services they provide, explain the focus of each and provide working examples on how to best use their data and to help generate insight from coronavirus-related scholarly communications.
COVID-19 Research Export File (provided by Dimensions)
Dimensions have created a spreadsheet of all their relevant research publications about the 2019 novel coronavirus and the disease it causes, COVID-19 (which can also be accessed via their dedicated search link: https://covid-19.dimensions.ai/). The spreadsheet contains publications, datasets and clinical trials. Dimensions is updated once every 24 hours, so the latest research can be viewed alongside existing information. It brings together research outputs with datasets and clinical trials, both of which are just as vital as journal articles.
COVID 19 Social Science Research Tracker
This international list tracks new research about COVID 19, including published findings, pre-prints, projects underway, and projects at least at proposal stage. The list is open and crowd sourced by researchers.
COVID-19 Literature Searches (provided by Medical Library Association (MLA), USA)
This is a list of literature searches curated by an MLA librarian from crowd-sourced suggestions by MLA members and other health information professionals. It provides suggested search strategies for COVID-19 and has an emphasis on searches related to special populations and COVID-19.
Covid-19 related Search strategies to use in Ovid databases
Ovid have put together a range of COVID-19 related expert searches to use in Ovid Medline and Journals@OVID. Choose the “Expert Search Strategies” link at the top of the page. If you are off campus (and not using Remote Desktop) the most reliable method of getting authenticated access is to use the 'Get Search URL' option next to each search strategy. Copy the URL and prefix it with our proxy details http://ezproxy.stir.ac.uk/login?url=
Day-Level COVID-19 Dataset (hosted on Kaggle)
Daily level information on those affected by COVID-19. Johns Hopkins University has made a dashboard using the affected cases data. Data is extracted from the google sheets associated and made available here. This dataset has daily level information on the number of affected cases, deaths and recovery from 2019 novel coronavirus. Note: it is time series data and so the number of cases on any given day is the cumulative number.
DynaMed COVID-19 Summaries
Only the COVID-19 summaries are freely available.
McGraw-Hill Medicine: AccessMedicine COVID-19 Central
Includes briefings, digital resources for healthcare professionals, information about PPE, pregnancy, pediatrics ...
Oxford COVID-19 Evidence Service
The University of Oxford’s Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine is using its expertise in evidence synthesis to investigate specific research questions relating to the COVID-19 pandemic. You can see the list of questions currently under investigation and the outcomes of those already completed. The page is updated regularly.
Public Health England Finding the evidence: Coronavirus
Public Health England’s Knowledge and Library Services Team has produced this page to help those working on the current coronavirus outbreak embed evidence-informed decision-making in their daily practice. The page signposts a range of mostly open access resources that have been promoted by different groups. It includes a useful section on 'Searching databases'.
UpToDate (COVID-19 Clinical Effectiveness Resources)
If you don't already have access to UpToDate register for a guest pass to see the latest evidence-based medicine (valid through April 30, 2020.)