Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Library Catalogue
Sage Research Methods
Supporting research at all levels Sage Research Methods brings you books, chapters, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos. See Case Studies of real research projects and practice on Datasets (these can also be used for teaching).
The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best techniques.
More tips, videos and guidance available a the Sage Research Methods help pages.
It is important to critically analyse information before you use it in an essay, report or assignment. These websites suggest how to evaluate the quality of different types of information. For further assistance with this, please ask in the Library.
Welcome to the Subject Research Guide for Nursing. Use this guide to find journal articles, books and websites for your studies.
If you have a suggestion for a resource to add - let us know
Recommended Resources from the A-Z
Full text access to articles on nursing and allied fields, health education, emergency services, occupational therapy, etc.
Covers material from 1982.
Use these databases to find journal articles. For guidance about searching see our successful search techniques website.
Provides full text access to 550 journals. Also abstracts and indexing for 850 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong.
Internurse provides full text articles from 18 major nursing journals.
Medline - via EBSCO
Medline covers medicine and nursing. It is created by the National Library of Medicine and uses MESH subject headings to locate resources.
Medline - via OVID
An index to the health, medical, biomedical and nursing literature. OVID Medline contains references from over 4000 journals. It covers the period 1946 to present and is updated weekly.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Provides full text access to articles realted to all aspects of sociology and the social sciences
The major resource for information on evidenced based medicine. The Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.
TRIP : Turning Research into Practice
A database of medical internet resources covering evidence based materials, including E-texts and medical images.
The Knowledge Network is the new name for NHS Scotland e-Library. It provides access to a wide range of databases, electronic journals, clinical guidelines and websites in all aspects of healthcare. Some materials are freely available to the public. Students and staff in the Department of Nursing and Midwifery and those working in partnership with the NHS can apply for an Athens username and password to access the full range of resources on this site.
Sage Research Methods Collection
Helps researchers and students with their research projects. Includes more than 800 ebooks with supporting dictionary articles, journal entries, videos and cases. Also provides access to more than 150 teaching datasets taken from real research projects, to support quantitative and qualitative analytical methods.
There is an excellent help page here http://sagepub.libguides.com/research-methods/researchmethods
Search tool that focuses on academic/scholarly materials available on the web. An excellent supplementary tool to use along with the established databases listed on this page.
On campus you will see links next to results that say: "Univ. of Stirling Links" these can help you check whether we have full text of articles, or paper copies in the Library.
Off campus, to view Stirling's links, use the Scholar Settings option to select Stirling. To do this: click this Google Scholar link, then choose the menu icon in the top left hand corner, then select Settings, choose Library Links, search for Stirling, select the Stirling University Library option. Click Save.
Web of Science Core Collection
Provides access to the Citation Indexes for: Science; Social Sciences; Arts & Humanities; Conference Proceedings and Books. Use for finding journal articles and conference papers. Databases can be searched simultaneously or select specific databases using the More Settings option.
Social Services Knowledge Scotland
A gateway to information and resources about social care in Scotland. Some information is freely available, other information is only available to holders of NHS Scotland Athens accounts. Includes information and resources previously accessible from ReSearchWeb which was discontinued at the end of March 2010
Index to over 1.5 million journal articles, book chapters and dissertations all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Journal coverage starts in 1887.
The Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN) produces national clinical guidelines containing recommendations for effective healthcare practice based on current evidence.
NICE (National Institute for Health & Care Excellence)
A source of clinical guidelines and evidence based healthcare information.
Your Librarian - Stirling Campus
Literature search planning template
Literature Searching Videos