LibGuides: Business & Management: Home

Quick Links

Book a Group Study Space
Find out how to book a room.
Article Request & Document Delivery
Request articles and books unavailable at Stirling University. For staff, postgraduate and 2nd/3rd year undergraduate students..
SCONUL Access
Postgraduate students and staff may join and borrow from many university libraries.
Place a hold on a book you need
If a book is on loan you can place a 'hold' on it. We will inform you as soon as it is available to collect from the Library.
Theses - Stirling PhD
Use STORRE to find PhD theses from University of Stirling
Theses - PhD at other Universities
Use EThOS to find PhD theses at UK Universities. Many are available for download. Many others may be requested.
Theses - PhD at US Universities
American Doctoral Dissertations provides details of US theses and text if available.

Social media

Recommended Journal Resources

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A business, management and economics database with full text for more than 2,300 journals with more than 1,100 from academic titles. This database provides some full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998.
Emerald This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fulltext electronic library includes 110 journals on marketing, general management, human resources and other management areas.
Econlit This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes 735,000 journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers about all areas of economics research. Topics covered include econometrics, economic forecasting, monetary theory, environmental economics and more. Some articles are available as linked full text.
IMF eLibrary This link opens in a new window
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. You will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and so much more.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Search tool that focuses on academic/scholarly materials available on the web. An excellent supplementary tool to use along with the established databases listed on this page. To connect Google Scholar results to the library's full-text articles - use the link above or use this url that includes Stirling's institution ID: https://scholar.google.com/?inst=5319673927942464470You will now see ‘Stirling Univ Full-text’ links in your search results.Alternatively you can you save this as a preference in your settings:1. In Google Scholar click the three horizontal bars in the corner to view the menu2. Select ‘Settings’3. Select ‘Library Links’ and search for: stirling4. Tick the box next to ‘Stirling University Library - University of Stirling Links’ 5. Click Save. ‘Stir Univ’ links will now appear next to articles in your search results. Click on the links to check if we have the full-text of the article in our collection. If we don’t have full-text use the options to request the article.Then go back to Settings, this time choose ‘Account’ (under ‘Library links’), then tick the box that says ‘Signed-in off-campus access links’ – this will make accessing full-text articles from off-campus easier
International Abstracts in Operations Research 1961-2017 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and bibliographic information for journal articles in the fields of operations research and management science. [No longer updated]

If we don't have a journal article you need use the Article Request or Document Delivery Service
- This link opens in a new window

Specialist Resources

Sage Research Methods Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Business Cases This link opens in a new window
Economist, The This link opens in a new window
UK Data Service This link opens in a new window
XpertHR This link opens in a new window
IFORS Developing Countries This link opens in a new window
International Federation of Operational Research Societies (IFORS) collection of publically available material on OR Development.

Market Research & Advertising

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Market reports covering the UK, USA, China as well as global reports..
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is the largest and most extensive statistics platform of its kind in the world. With a team of over 120 statisticians, database experts, analysts and editors, Statista provides students, faculty and researchers with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data and statistics from 18,000 sources and on 60,000 different topics. With many thousands of downloadable reports, studies and dossiers, Statista provides huge coverage of data relating to economics, society, politics and environment.
WARC : World Advertising Research Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Premier resource on advertising, marketing, brands and campaigns. Includes case studies, consumer insight, industry trends, news, data and forecasts, media trends, economic and demographic data, profiles of major brand owners and much more.
WARC's Forecasts & Data This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Key data, forecasts and trends for marketing, advertising and media research. Includes the latest advertising expenditure, global media costs and usage, TV viewing and newspaper trends, and a number of benchmarking tools.
Marketline Industry Profiles This link opens in a new window
Over 30,000 worldwide industry profiles (includes consumer goods, manufacturing, financial, energy and many other markets). Use this link and then enter the country and industry.

More Journal Resources

These are multi-disciplinary databases of research journal articles.

Scopus This link opens in a new window The largest international abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources. Searches 45.5 million records from 5,000 different publishers covering many different subjects.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Provides access to the Citation Indexes for: Science; Social Sciences; Arts & Humanities; Conference Proceedings and Books. Use for finding journal articles and conference papers. Databases can be searched simultaneously or select specific databases using the More Settings option.
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Access to Elsevier journals (over 1000 titles) in various subject areas, not only science, e.g., economics, management, psychology and sociology.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window

ABS Journal List (register to view this free resource)
The Chartered Association of Business Schools' 'Academic Journal Guide' gives quality rating of journals in the fields of Business, Management and Economics.

Contact Your Librarian / make an appointment

Neil Skinner

Email Me

Literature search planning template

Literature search planning template.
A template to help in designing a search strategy

Evaluation Tips

It is important to critically analyse information before you use it in an essay, report or assignment. These websites suggest how to evaluate the quality of different types of information. For further assistance with this, please ask in the Library.

Evaluating Resources
Wikipedia: academic use
Article about academic use of Wikipedia

Consumers

The University does not have subscriptions to the following organisations and databases but some data and reports are available free of charge.

See also the databases listed under 'Market Research & Advertising' and the 'Data & Statistics' tab.