Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Literature Searching Skills
It is important to critically analyse information before you use it in an essay, report or assignment. These websites suggest how to evaluate the quality of different types of information. For further assistance with this, please ask in the Library.
Welcome to the Subject Research Guide for Dementia Studies
If you have a suggestion for a resource to add - let us know
Recommended Resources from the A-Z
CINAHL complete This link opens in a new window
Full text access to articles on nursing and allied fields, health education, emergency services, occupational therapy, etc.
Covers material from 1982.
Health Source This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to 550 journals. Also abstracts and indexing for 850 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Index to over 1.5 million journal articles, book chapters and dissertations all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Journal coverage starts in 1887.
Medline - via EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Medline covers medicine and nursing. It is created by the National Library of Medicine and uses MESH subject headings to locate resources.
Social Care Online This link opens in a new window
Produced by Social Care Institute for Excellence, Social Care Online provides access to resources for all aspects of social care. Includes policy documents, government publications and practice orientated books and articles. From 1st April 2013 it will be necessary to register and sign in to download material from Social Care Online. Registration is free.
Internurse This link opens in a new window
Internurse provides full text articles from 18 major nursing journals.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the Citation Indexes for: Science; Social Sciences; Arts & Humanities; Conference Proceedings and Books. Use for finding journal articles and conference papers. Databases can be searched simultaneously or select specific databases using the More Settings option.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to articles realted to all aspects of sociology and the social sciences
Sage Research Methods Collection This link opens in a new window
Helps researchers and students with their research projects. Includes more than 800 ebooks with supporting dictionary articles, journal entries, videos and cases. Also provides access to more than 150 teaching datasets taken from real research projects, to support quantitative and qualitative analytical methods.
There is an excellent help page here http://sagepub.libguides.com/research-methods/researchmethods
Scopus This link opens in a new window
The largest international abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources. Searches 45.5 million records from 5,000 different publishers covering many different subjects.
Academic Liaison Librarian
Literature Search Planning Template
Literature Searching Videos