LibGuides: Aquaculture: Data & Statistics

Industry Reports & Statistics

Statista This link opens in a new window

Search Statista by keyword e.g. fisheries, aquaculture etc.for a range of statistics, forecasts, industry reports etc.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window

Search IBISWorld by keyword e.g. fisheries, aquaculture etc. for industry and market reports, statistics etc. from UK, US and China.

Statistical Analysis Books

As well as the sources of statistics listed on this page, there are many books in the library on handling statistics with the statistical program "R". For example, see: Biostatistical Design and Analysis Using R (ebook) by Logan, Statistics: an introduction using R by Crawley, The R book (ebook) by Crawley, How to be a Quantitative Ecologist: The 'A to R' of Green Mathematics and Statistics (ebook) by Matthiopoulos, Discovering statistics using R by Field, Miles & Field, Statistics for ecologists using R and Excel: data collection, exploration, analysis and presentation by Gardener, Beginning R : the statistical programming language (ebook) by Gardener, Introductory Statistics with R (ebook) by Dalgaard, Applied Statistical Genetics with R: For Population-based Association Studies (ebook) by Foulkes.

Key Scottish Environment Statistics
Key statistics on the state of the environment in Scotland, with an emphasis on trends wherever possible
Scottish Environment Statistics Online Index (Scottish Government)
Database of statistics for a range of environmental categories
Department for Environment, Food & Rural Affairs (DEFRA): Statistics
Covers a range of summary statistics on the environment in the United Kingdom

Eurostat (Statistical Office of the European Union) This link opens in a new window
The European Union's statistical information service. Provides high quality statistics. You can search by keyword or browse by theme, for example: Population and Social Conditions; Agriiculture and fisheries (includes Forestry); Environment and Energy; etc.

EarthTrends (World Resources Institute)
Online resource that highlights the environmental, social, and economic trends that shape our world. Offers a collection of vital statistics, maps, and graphics for more than 200 countries.
World Resources Report (World Resources Institute)
Each World Resources Report provides policymakers around the world with analysis and insight about major environmental and development issues

Fishery & Aquaculture Statistics

FAO Fishery and Aquaculture Yearbooks
A compilation of data on capture production, aquaculture production and commodities
FAO - The state of World Fisheries & Aquaculture
A global view of capture fisheries and aquaculture, including associated policy issues. Annual from 1994.
OECD Review of Fisheries: Country Statistics (read online)
Choose the Read option to view the full-text online (PDF not accessible)
Annual statistical report on fisheries & aquaculture in OECD and other countries. Information on fishing fleet, employment in fisheries, government financial transfers, total allowable catches, landings, aquaculture production, recreational fisheries and imports and exports.
OECD Review of Fisheries: Country Statistics (paper copy)
Shelved in the Library at: Stirling Statistics STATS GA AGRI (at the Loch end of Level 4)
OECD.StatExtracts: Fisheries Statistics
OECD Fisheries country statistics for downloading into Excel, CSV file, etc.
UK Sea Fisheries Statistics
The UK Office for National Statistics' picture of the UK fishing industry and its operations.For the archive of statistics prior to 2012 see: https://webarchive.nationalarchives.gov.uk/20140508034354/http://www.marinemanagement.org.uk/fisheries/statistics/annual_archive.htm.
Scottish Sea Fisheries Statistics
The Scottish Government.data on the Scottish fishing fleet, fishermen employed and landings data.
FAO Fishery & Aquaculture Country Profiles
Activities and trends in fisheries & aquaculture including economic and demographic data.

Marine Data

OCLE - Observatory of Cimate change effects on Littoral Ecosystems.

Integrates meteo-oceanographic data and presence of marine species, to aid assessment of the past, present and future distribution of coastal communities and ecosystems.

SEANEO - Sea Scientific Open Data

Sea scientific open data publicationSea scientific open data publicationSAN open archive of Marine research data (may be 2 year embargo on some data)

Environment Statistics

Key Scottish Environment Statistics
Key statistics on the state of the environment in Scotland, with an emphasis on trends wherever possible
Scottish Environment Statistics Online Index (Scottish Government)
Database of statistics for a range of environmental categories
Department for Environment, Food & Rural Affairs (DEFRA): Statistics
Covers a range of summary statistics on the environment in the United Kingdom
EarthTrends (World Resources Institute)
Online resource that highlights the environmental, social, and economic trends that shape our world. Offers a collection of vital statistics, maps, and graphics for more than 200 countries.
World Resources Report (World Resources Institute)
Each World Resources Report provides policymakers around the world with analysis and insight about major environmental and development issues
OECD Environment at a Glance Indicators
Key messages on environmental trends in climate change, biodiversity, water resources, air quality, circular economy and ocean resources. Evaluate environmental performance in countries and track progress towards sustainable development.

UK Statistics

UK Data Service
Explore the UK's largest collection of UK and international social, economic and population data.
more...less...
Access to the UK's largest social research data collection. Contains of 6000 data collections, including UK census data, government funded surveys, longitundinal studies, international macrodata, qualitative data, and business microdata. You may need to click 'Login' and enter 'University of Stirling' into the institutions box. You may need to accept 'special conditions' to use some of the datasets.

A range of tutorials about the UK Data Service is available from YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuHmFA7iAlct9eNgEE1a_BA
UK Data Archive
The UK's largest collection of social and economic data going back to 1967.
Office for National Statistics
The UK's largest independent producer of official statistics and the recognised national statistical institute of the UK.
Institute for Social and Economic Research
Longitudinal data and analysis providing evidence on how people’s lives are changing over time.
UK Economy Statistics

Scotland

Scottish Government Statistics
Listed by broad themes e.g. labour market, social and welfare, business, enterprise and energy.
National Records of Scotland
Satistical information about Scotland’s people. Includes links to statistics by theme and Census data.

International

Eurostat
Includes: Population & Social Conditions; Agriiculture & fisheries (includes Forestry); Environment and Energy; etc.
ICPSR
Extensive collection of US and international social and behavioural sciences micro data.
more...less...
It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
OECD
Books, papers, statistics and data analysis from the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development.
more...less...
Also contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).
United Nations
Economic, demographic, environmental statistics for all UN countries.
World Bank
Access World Bank data via the Databank tab.
INED World Population (Institut National d’Etudes Démographiques)
World population data and trends from 1950's to date with graphs and maps.