Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A wealth of information about aquaculture science, policy, sustainability, food security etc. from the World Agriculture Organization.
FAO Aquaculture Information Products
Technical papers, Guidelines, Reports, Newsletters etc. relating to Aquaculture from the Food and Agriculture Organization.
Independent fishing related news, prices and service covering the catching, processing and aquaculture sectors both in a UK and international context.
The Fish Site
Global aquaculture news and analysis. Note, although much of the content is free, this site is produced by a commercial company.
A free web portal by Thomson Reuters (producer of BIOSIS). It provides information resources and updates for the life sciences. Includes access to: Nomenclature Glossary for Zoology and Zoological Record Thesaurus. You can search or browse by organism, subject and/or geography.
Fishery and Aquaculture Country Profiles
Assessment of activities and trends in fisheries and aquaculture for the country concerned - includes economic and demographic data.
A database with detailed information on a large number of different fish species
Encyclopedia of Underwater Life
Edited by Andrew Campbell and John Dawes. Available as an ebook
Biology & Environment Sources
Scotland’s Environment gateway
Gateway to reliable and accurate information on Scotland’s environment. This site is steered by a partnership chaired by the Scottish Government.
Online Bibliography of Environmental Thought
Index of books, journal articles and reports on the topic of environmental ethics. Check the Library Catalogue to see whether the book, journal or report you have found is available from our Library.
UN-Documentation Centre on Water and Sanitation (UNDCWS)
Launched to celebrate the UN decade for water. Provides free access to UN and associated bodies (FAO, WHO, etc) full text reports, guidelines and multimedia. Topics include: gender and water, climate change, water and food security, sanitation, water quality.
UNEP Knowledge Repository
Gives open access to United Nations Environment Programme’s publications, technical and assessment reports, guidelines, newsletters, journal articles and other types of information material
Improve your Web Searching